8 RS MPs Suspended for Session End Sit-In, Join Opposition Boycott

The others suspended are Rajeev Satav, KK Ragesh, Syed Nassir Hussain, Ripun Bohra, Dola Sen, and Elemaram Kareem.

4 min read
Singing, sitting on grass, eight suspended Rajya Sabha members have been camping near the Gandhi statue.

The eight suspended Opposition Rajya Sabha MPs previously holding a sit-in inside the Parliament complex ended it on Tuesday, 22 September, after Opposition parties decided to boycott the rest of the session in House.

Congress Rajya Sabha MP Syed Nasir Hussain, one of the suspended MPs spoke to ANI, saying, “We wanted not just the suspension to be revoked but at the same time we wanted the farm bills to be taken back and proper voting to happen. But nothing of that sort was going to happen as the Chairman wasn't ready to listen to anyone.”

“So all the Opposition parties boycotted the rest of the session. They appealed to all the people who were sitting at the dharna to finish it and join them in boycotting the rest of the session. That is how we have ended this dharna,” he added.

Suspended Members Hold Sit-In at Parliament Lawns

The eight Rajya Sabha members, including Derek O’Brien and Sanjay Singh, were on Monday suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the remaining part of the current session of Parliament. However, they refused to leave and spent the night on the parliament lawns, where they staged a sit-in with placards that read – "We will fight for farmers" and "parliament assassinated," NDTV reported.

On Tuesday morning, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh met the members who were still protesting at the Gandhi statue against their suspension from the House and brought them tea, ANI reported. NDTV reported that they snubbed his offer of tea.

Earlier, the suspended Rajya Sabha MPs sat in protest near the Gandhi statue in the Parliament complex and later joined the other Opposition leaders to walk to President Ram Nath Kovind's official residence to bring his attention to the farm bills row.

This comes in the aftermath of the chaos that ensued in Parliament, on Sunday, during the passage of two controversial farm bills.

Previously, it was reported that the eight MPs had been suspended for a week.

The members suspended from the House are Rajeev Satav, KK Ragesh, Syed Nasir Hussain, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Elamaram Kareem, Singh and O’Brien.

Union Law Minister, Ravishankar Prasad, in a presser, bemoaned Sunday’s conduct of the Opposition leaders as “shameful” and “irresponsible”.

'Open Violation of Rules': Law Minister

According to PTI, Prasad said that Opposition Rajya Sabha members, despite being suspended, did not leave the House “which is in open violation of rules”.

Prasad also alleged that if the Marshals had not protected Deputy Chairperson Harivansh, “he would have been nearly physically assaulted.”

Further, alluding to Bihar, where elections are round the corner, Prasad said: “The country, as well as Bihar, is pained by the treatment meted out to Harivanshji in Rajya Sabha. The way Congress & RJD not only remained silent while he was insulted but also provoked it, will be told to Bihar. Congress & RJD will have to answer.”

Prasad also insisted the the government had a clear majority on the subject of Farm bills on Sunday.

On the subject of Akali Dal leader Harsimrat Badal quitting the Cabinet as protest against farm bills, Prasad, according to ANI, said:

“She (Akali Dal leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal) has been a distinguished member of our Cabinet & the issue was discussed. She raised a point if it was legally possible. I clarified Centre has power under provisions of the Constitution.”

Mamata Speaks to Suspended MPs

Mamata Banerjee, on her part, spoke to the suspended MPs from all parties who were protesting near the Gandhi statue, according to Indian Express reporter Liz Mathew. 

Banerjee told the Opposition MPs in protest that she appreciated their efforts in upholding the values of the Parliament and fighting against the farm bills.

8 RS MPs Suspended for Session End Sit-In, Join Opposition Boycott
(Photo: Screenshot/Twitter)

Earlier in the day, Trinamool Congress supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had taken to Twitter to express her displeasure with the decision.


Two of the government's three farm bills, which have been the subject of a huge row, were passed on Sunday amid loud protests from the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

The members created a ruckus after their suspension on Monday and raised slogans in the House, refusing to leave, causing the Chairman to adjourn the House till 10 am. Even after proceedings resumed at 10 am, the chaos continued, requiring the House to eventually be adjourned for the day.

Meanwhile, the Rajya Sabha Chairman said that the no-confidence motion moved by Opposition members against Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman was not accepted. He said that the no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman is not admissible under the rules.

On Sunday, Trinamool Congress MP Derek O’ Brien reportedly attempted to tear the rule book and snatch Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narayan’s microphone as chaos ensued in Rajya Sabha amid a heated debate over the crucial farm Bills, which were subsequently cleared in the Parliament.

According to NDTV, O’Brien also rushed to the well of the House to register his protest against the Centre and say: "This is brutal murder of the parliamentary democratic system.”

NDTV reported that Sanjay Singh and Congress member Rajeev Satav climbed onto the Secretary General's table while some members pulled out microphones at their seats, and some other MPs also tore up copies of the bills.

(With inputs from NDTV and ANI.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!