Assembly Polls in 4 States, 1 Union Territory from April 4-May 16

Assembly Polls in 4 States, 1 Union Territory from April 4-May 16


The elections to five state assemblies of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry will be held between April 4 and May 16 and counting of votes on May 19, the Election Commission announced on Friday.

Assam will go to polls in two phases on April 4 and 11 while elections in West Bengal will be held in six phases on April 4 and 11 (under Phase one), 17, 21, 25, 30 and May 5.

The single-phase elections for Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry assemblies will be held on May 16, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi told a press conference in Delhi.

The elections will also see for the first time a symbol, which has been created by the National School of Design, allotted to NOTA (None of the above) that will be placed at the bottom of the list of candidates.

Zaidi also said that all booths will have seven basic facilities and there will also be all-women polling booths.

Mobile squads will have GPS-fitted vehicles and will be accompanied by central forces to ensure that they quickly attend to complaints.

(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.)

Follow our Videos section for more stories.

Subscribe to
The Daily Newsletter
News and Other Updates