Instagram’s Latest Update Will Let You Mute People You Follow
The update will also have a feature which will notify users if they have been using the app for a long time.
Instagram is rolling out some very interesting features with it upcoming update which will allow users to not only mute friends without unfollowing them but will also notify users if they have been using the app for a long time. The feature is called, “You’re All Caught Up”.
The update will allow users to remove someone’s posts, or both their posts and their stories, from appearing on their Instagram home screen.
However, just because you have muted a person doesn’t mean that you won’t be able to view their profile. You will also have an option to unmute people any time you want. The best part is none of the people you have muted will get to know that. Just like on WhatsApp.
If you wish to unmute someone, all you have to do is select the “unmute posts” function. Tap on the the user’s profile and then tap “unmute posts,” or just select “unmute posts” from the menu option on the app.
Now talking about the “You’re All Caught Up” feature, which according to Tech Crunch
will intimate users when they have seen everything there is to see in their feed.
As a notification your home screen will show: “You’re All Caught Up – You’ve seen all new posts from the past 48 hours”.
This feature looks to curb the amount of time users spend on Instagram. It will help to reduce the amount of time users spend scrolling, in the fear of missing out on posts.
There has been no official announcement about when Instagram will be rolling out these features on the app.
It is also uncertain whether the update will show posts from all of the people who follow you or there will be some algorithm that will help sort out the posts you are more inclined to see.
(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)
Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.