Women’s World T20: India Eye Semis Berth With Ireland Fixture

India are playing Ireland at the Women’s World T20 on Thursday. A win will ensure a place in the semis.

2 min read
India are playing Ireland in their third match of the Women’s World T20 on Thursday.
  • India are playing Ireland in their third fixture of the ICC Women’s World T20 on Thursday. Match starts at 8:30pm IST
  • India have won both their matches so far, against New Zealand and Pakistan
  • A win on Thursday will help India book a berth in the semi-finals

Eyeing a semi-finals berth, overwhelming favourites India will have to guard against complacency when they play Ireland in their third Group B match of the ICC Women's World T20 on Thursday, 15 November.

India are on a roll having convincingly won their first two matches, including against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday, 12 November.

Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur started the tournament with her blazing hundred against New Zealand at the Providence Stadium in Guyana, the same venue where India will face Ireland.

Ireland, on the other hand, have lost to both Australia and Pakistan.

If Kaur was the star of the opening win, the team's most experienced campaigner, Mithali Raj, showed the way in the seven-wicket win over Pakistan.

Eighteen-year-old Jemimah Rodrigues started the WT20 with a fine half-century, but the likes of Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy will look to get among the runs against Ireland.

In the bowling department, off-break bowler Dayalan Hemalatha and leg-spinner Poonam Yadav have shone with 10 wickets between them so far, and the seamers will look to get going in the coming games.

Australia have already booked the first of two semi-final berths from the group with three wins out of three so far, and India will join the three-time winners in the last-four with victory over Ireland.

Teams (from):

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy

Ireland: Laura Delany (capt), Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Lara Maritz, Ciara Metcalfe, Lucy OReilly, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Clare Shillington, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!