Aaron Back From the Wild, Rahul in India A Squad for Lions ‘Test’

Rahul will play red-ball cricket for the first time since his suspension, Aaron hasn’t played for India since 2015.

2 min read
Varun Aaron (left) and KL Rahul have been named in a 14-man India A squad to face England Lions in an unofficial ‘Test’ at Wayanad.

Opener KL Rahul will continue his initiation back into the game from suspension after being picked in the India A squad for their first unofficial Test against England Lions.

The 14-member India A roster for the opening game of the two-match contest at Wayanad from 7-10 February also features Jharkhand fast bowler Varun Aaron, who last wore national colours way back in November 2015.

Aaron, statistically speaking, hasn’t had an exceptional domestic season, managing 25 wickets from seven Ranji Trophy games, but sources close to the selection committee have hinted at wanting to monitor the once injury-prone speedster in order to broaden India’s expanding fast-bowling pool.

That's the reason behind two tearaway quicks in veteran Aaron and young Avesh Khan finding a berth along with Shardul Thakur, who is coming back from a long lay-off, and current A team regular Navdeep Saini.


The team doesn't have too many surprises as most of the domestic performers have found their place in the squad.

All-rounder Jalaj Saxena, after another good season, is now back in the A team mix , while Siddhesh Lad has also been rewarded for his consistent show over the past few seasons.

Incidentally, legendary Sunil Gavaskar in one of his recent columns had questioned Lad’s repeated absence from various A team assignments.

Openers Priyank Panchal and Abhimanyu Easwaran along with middle-order batsman Ricky Bhui and leg-spinner Mayank Markande have all got the nod.

The squad doesn't contain any top performers from either Saurashtra or Vidarbha, as the Ranji Trophy final will only get over on 7 February.

India A Squad for 1st ‘Test’ vs Lions

  • Ankit Bawne (c)
  • KL Rahul
  • Abhishek Easwaran
  • Priyank Panchal
  • Ricky Bhui
  • Siddhesh Lad
  • KS Bharat (wk)
  • Jalaj Saxena
  • Shahbaz Nadeem
  • Mayank Markande
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Avesh Khan
  • Varun Aaron

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!