All six Rajasthan BSP MLAs join Congress

All six Rajasthan BSP MLAs join Congress

Hot News
2 min read
All six Rajasthan BSP MLAs join Congress
Jaipur, Sep 17 (IANS) In a big jolt to Mayawati's Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) in Rajasthan, all of its six MLAs have joined the Congress.
With this merger, the Congress now has 106 seats in the 200-seated Assembly.
The developments happened late Monday night when the six MLAs met Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot at 9.30 p.m., and then Assembly Speaker C.P. Joshi to whom the letter offering to join the Congress was submitted. Joshi gave his approval and in the night only, all the six MLAs formally joined the Congress.
These MLAs are -- Giriraj Singh from Bari, Raj Kumar Sharma from Navalgarh, Ramkesh Meena Gangapur City, Ramesh Meena from Sapotara, Rajendra Guda from Udaipurvati and Murarilal Meena from Dausa.
Earlier, the BSP was supporting the Congress from outside.
However, the BSP state president Seetaram Meghwal and state-in-charge Dharamveer Ashok expressed ignorance to the entire development.
"Had we known it, we would have never allowed this to happen," they said.
Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot said: "The decision of the six MLAs should be welcomed as they have clean intentions. We shall work together to take Rajasthan on the path of development."
C.P. Joshi said: "we received letter of merger from these six MLAs and there is no legal challenge in the merger."
However, BJP state President Satish Poonia said that the entire development shows insecurity of Gehlot as Congress had a thin majority and Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot was criticising his own government on the law and order situation, indirectly questioning the Chief Minister's working style as he holds the home portfolio.
Sources confirmed that this merger would help the Congress in the ensuing Panchayat and Civic elections. But at the same time, there are apprehensions that this may lead to infighting within the Congress as the BSP leaders have been promised plush positions which some senior Congress leaders have been hoping to get.
The State Assembly now has -- 106 Congress MLAs, 72 BJP MLAs, 13 Independents, 2 Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP), 2 CPI(M), 1 Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and 2 Rashtriya Loktankrit Party (RLP). Two seats are vacant presently as the MLAs became MPs and by-polls are awaited.

(This story was auto-published from a syndicated feed. No part of the story has been edited by The Quint.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and hot-news

Topics:  ians 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News