Phase 1 Polling for 2019 Lok Sabha Elections: The Key Statistics

Phase 1 Polling for 2019 Lok Sabha Elections: The Key Statistics

News Videos

Video Editor: Abhishek Sharma


The much-awaited 2019 Lok Sabha polls will finally begin on 11 April when voters in 91 constituencies across 20 states will cast their votes. A total of 1,279 candidates will test their fate out of which 553 are independent candidates.

The campaigning for the constituencies ended on 9 April 2019. If you are one of the voters who will be exercising their democratic right on 11 April, have a look at these key statistics about phase 1 candidates before you decide which party or candidate will get your vote.

Candidates With Criminal Cases

According to the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), 213 candidates have criminal cases against them. Out of these, 146 have serious criminal cases against them.

Among the major parties, Congress has 35 candidates with declared criminal cases against them. BJP has 30, YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) has 13, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has 8, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has 5 and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has 4 candidates with declared criminal cases against them.

Also Read : Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Which States Are Voting in First Phase?

Crorepati Candidates

According to ADR, 401 candidates have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore. Out of these, the Congress has the highest number of crorepati candidates with 69 of them declaring their assets over Rs 1 crore. The BJP has 65, TDP has 25, YSRCP has 22, TRS has 17 and BSP has 15 crorepati candidates.

Twenty-three candidates have declared their assets worth zero rupees. However, 114 candidates have not given their PAN details while 70 candidates with declared income over Rs 1 crore have not filed their Income Tax Returns (ITR).

The candidates with highest asset value who have not declared their ITR details are: Congress’ Nabam Tuki (worth Rs 100.29 crore), Congress’ KL Chisi (worth Rs 37.01 crore) and Congress’ Lowangcha Wanglat (worth Rs 35.35 crore). They are candidates from Arunachal West, Nagaland and Arunachal East, respectively.

Counting for all seven phases will be done on 23 May.

(Hi there! We will be continuing our news service on WhatsApp. Also, stay tuned to our Telegram channel here.)

Follow our News Videos section for more stories.

News Videos

    Also Watch