Rahane, Shami Dropped; KL Rahul in ODI Squad vs England

The Selection Committee announced the ODI and T20 series for India’s tour to England, starting 3 July.

2 min read
Virat Kohli will be leading India’s ODI and T20 squads during the tour to England.

India Team for ODI Series

Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav, Suresh Raina, Axar Patel.

India Team for T20 Series

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (Wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Krunal Pandya.

Mohammad Shami and Ajinkya Rahane have been dropped from India’s ODI squad for the all-important tour to England, while KL Rahul has been included for the three-match series starting 12 July.

Young speedster Siddarth Kaul was rewarded with a T20 berth against Ireland and England for his consistent IPL performance.


32-year-old Rayudu, who last played an ODI during India’s tour to Zimbabwe in June 2016, had found his way back into the Indian dressing room on the back of his recent performances in the Indian Premier League. However, he was dropped from the side after he failed to pass the Yo-Yo Test. Suresh Raina has taken Rayudu’s place in the ODI squad.

Jasprit Bumrah, who was earlier named in the T20 squad, has been ruled out of the series due to a thumb injury. He sustained the injury during the first T20I against Ireland.

Off-spinner Washington Sundar too had to leave the team due to an ankle injury. Sundar has been ruled out for the entire limited-overs leg of the tour. Krunal Pandya and Deepak Chahar have been called in as replacements in the T20 squad, while Axar Patel will take Sundar’s place in the ODI squad.

Suresh Raina, who had been recalled for the Twenty 20 series in South Africa in February, has retained his place in the Twenty20 squad for the series against England.

On the other hand, Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur – who were in the team for the South Africa series – have been excluded.

India will be playing England in a three-match T20 series (3 July, 6 July and 8 July) and three-match ODI series (12 July, 14 July, 17 July). This will be followed by 5 Test matches.


(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit Send.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!