After Third Umpire’s Error, Review Restored to England

In the 75th over, bowled by Leach, Rahane gloved it to the fielder. India were 248/4 and Rahane was on 66.

1 min read
Joe Root asks for a review on Day 1 of the Chennai Test. 

In a rare incident, an umpire's Decision Review System (DRS) referral was on Saturday restored to England after an error on the part of the third umpire, Anil Chaudhary, on the first day of the second Test against India at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

On the second ball of the 75th over, bowled by left-arm spinner Jack Leach, Ajinkya Rahane gloved it to the forward short-leg fielder. India were 248 for four wickets and Rahane was on 66.

While the England players appealed, the umpire declared 'not out'. On review, the snickometre showed no spike as the ball went past the inside edge of the bat.

The third umpire declared the batsman not out. However, the umpire did not watch the entire replay that later showed the ball popping up and brushing Rahane's gloves while going to the short-leg fielder.

The decision meant that Rahane got a 'life', and England lost another of their three reviews. They had already lost one in the first session. Rahane added one more run after umpire's error and was out for 67 off 149 balls.

The decision sparked a huge outburst on twitter and the review was eventually later restored the review.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!