India Bring In Rohit Sharma & Navdeep Saini for Sydney Test

Pacer Navdeep Saini will make his Test debut against Australia in Sydney. 

1 min read
Navdeep Saini celebrates a dismissal against Australia A during the warm-up games on the tour Down Under. 

India are making a couple of changes for the third Test in Sydney against Australia and will be handing the pacer Navdeep Saini his Test debut. Saini replaces the injured Umesh Yadav, who injured his calf in the second Test.

Apart from that, the visitors have also brought in the senior pro Rohit Sharma at the top of the order instead of Mayank Agarwal, who has not been in good touch through this tour.

The Indian team announced their playing XI on the eve of the Sydney Test and will be playing two spinners once again with Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin. Along with them, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj (debutant at Melbourne) and Saini who make up the bowling attack.

At the top of the order as Rahane confirmed, Rohit will be opening the innings along side Shubman Gill, who also made his debut at Melbourne and impressed most of the pundits with his assured batting.

Hanuma Vihari and Rishabh Pant have also retained their spots, with Cheteshwar Pujara and the captain Rahane making up the final XI.

India, who won the second Test in Melbourne by 8 wickets, will be hoping to register a second win the series, thus holding on to the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Australia on their part are also expected to field a new opening pair with David Warner all set to return to the line-up with Will Pucovski tipped to make his debut too.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!