DMK Seals Pre-Poll Alliance With VCK and CPI in Tamil Nadu

The DMK has now signed electoral alliance pacts with the Congress, CPI, VCK, IUML and KDMK.

1 min read
DMK chief MK Stalin.

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Monday, 4 March, concluded electoral pacts with the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, IANS reported.

As per the agreement inked between the three parties, the CPI and the VCK get two seats each.

"We made an agreement with DMK for two constituencies in forthcoming parliamentary elections. We will decide on what are those constituencies after a couple of days. Now we fixed only on the numbers, peacefully and happily," ANI reported.

Thirumavalavan gave the information after his talks with the seat-sharing committee of the DMK.


Thirumavalavan told IANS that the DMK-led alliance will win all the 40 Lok Sabha seats -- 39 in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry seat.

He also said that the party would decide on whether to contest under its own symbol or under the DMK's Rising Sun symbol.

CPI's Tamil Nadu State Secretary R Mutharasan told IANS that the agreement was reached in the second round and that the party will contest under its own symbol.

The DMK has now signed electoral alliance pacts with the Congress, CPI, VCK, IUML and KDMK.

(With inputs from ANI and IANS)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!