Polls 2019: Chappals Hurled at Haasan During Poll Meeting

Catch all the updates on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections here.

7 min read
Catch the latest news updates of Lok Sabha elections 2019 here.

The 2019 Lok Sabha elections is in the sixth phase in the ongoing seven-phase elections. All seven phases of voting will end on 19 May, results for which will be declared on 23 May.

Catch all the updates on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections here.

12:42 AM , 16 May

It Will Be Mistake for Veerashaivas to Vote for Cong as It Insulted Veerendra Patil: Yeddyurappa Kalgi

Karnataka BJP president B S Yeddyurappa has said it will be a mistake for the Veerashaiva community to vote for the Congress again as the party "insulted" its tallest leader Veerendra Patil, who had served as chief minister twice.

"It will be a mistake on the part of Veerashaiva community members living in this part of the state if they vote for the Congress, which had heaped insult and brought ignominy to their leader Veerendra Patil, who had helped the Congress win about 178 seats in Karnataka," Yeddyurappa told a public gathering in Kalaburgi district's Kalgi village on Tuesday.

He was campaigning for the party candidate for the Chincholi Assembly bypoll. Patil, who hailed from the Veerashaiva community, was the chief minister twice -- from 1968 to 1971 and from 1989 to 1990.

12:38 AM , 16 May

Chappals Hurled at Kamal Haasan During Election Meeting

Chappals were hurled towards a vehicle from which actor-turned-politician Kamal Haasan was addressing an election meeting in the Tirupparankundram Assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu on Wednesday evening, police said.

One person has been detained, the police said, adding that the chappals missed the target and fell on the crowd.

Haasan, founder of new political outfit Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM), kicked up a controversy this week with his comment that free India's first extremist was a Hindu, a reference to Mahatma Gandhi's assassin Nathuram Godse.

10:53 PM , 15 May

EC Orders Twitter to Remove Exit Polls Related Posts

Election Commission of India has ordered Twitter India to remove all the tweets related to 2019 Lok Sabha elections exit polls, reported ANI.

8:31 PM , 15 May

Repoll in 5 Polling Stations in AP's Chandragiri Constituency

The Election Commission has ordered a repoll on 19 May in five polling stations in Chandragiri Assembly segment under Chittoor Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh, State Chief Electoral Officer Gopal Krishna Dwivedi said.

Repoll would accordingly be held in polling stations 321, 104, 316, 318 and 313 of both Assembly and Lok Sabha segments, the CEO said in a release.

Published: 15 May 2019, 6:08 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!