Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series Starts At Perth; Adelaide To Host Day-Night Test

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024 will begin in Perth on 22 November while the last Test will be played in Sydney

2 min read
Hindi Female

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series between India and Australia will begin on 22 November, as Cricket Australia (CA) confirmed details of the 2024-25 international schedule.

For the first time since 1991-92, Australia and India will compete across a five-Test series with Perth Stadium hosting the opening match, followed by a day-night pink-ball second Test at Adelaide Oval, scheduled from 6-10 December.

The Gabba, once the traditional opening venue of the Test summer, will host the third Test from 14-18 December, before the traditional Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from 26-30 December, and the New Year’s Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) from 3-7 January, 2025.

In the last four Test series between the two teams, reigning Border-Gavaskar Trophy champions India has been the more dominant team, winning each time. This includes winning the Test series in Australia in back-to-back years, from 2018–19 and 2020–21 (both by identical 2-1 margins).

Australia have not beaten India in a home series since 2014-15. In 2018-19, India became the first Asian team to win a Test series in Australia.

"This is one of the most highly anticipated summers of cricket in memory with the eyes of the cricket world focused on the extended Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series and the multiformat Women’s Ashes.

"Fittingly, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been put on the same footing as The Ashes with a five Test Series for the first time since 1991-92 and we’re confident the schedule will maximise viewership and attendances and there will be a tremendous atmosphere in stadiums across the country," Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said.

Meanwhile, Australian women will then play three ODIs against India in December meaning the hugely supported Indian men’s and women’s teams will be in Australia simultaneously.

After the conclusion of the Border-Gavaskar series, the multiformat women's Ashes will commence with the first ODI on 12 January, and the white-ball leg of the series will finish with a 25 January clash at the Adelaide Oval.

The Test match at the MCG will be played over four days from 30 January and will be the first women's Test to be played at the iconic ground since 1949.

"The first Women’s Test match at the MCG since 1949, and the first day-night Test at that historic ground, will be a memorable occasion and another important milestone for women’s cricket as we take more games to major stadiums including the SCG and Adelaide Oval.

"The women’s white-ball series against New Zealand and India and the men’s white ball series against Pakistan will provide wonderful entertainment and ensure fans in many locations can get behind our world champion teams," Hockley added.


Border Gavaskar Trophy Series schedule:

  • 1st Test, 22-26 November at Perth Stadium, Perth

  • 2nd Test, 6-10 December at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

  • 3rd Test, 14-18 December at The Gabba, Brisbane

  • 4th Test, 26-30 December at MCG, Melbourne

  • 5th Test, 3-7 January at SCG, Sydney

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More