Rajnandgaon Election Result 2023 Live Updates: BJP Won In This Seat Of Chhattisgarh

Rajnandgaon Election Result 2023 Live Updates: BJP or Congress - Check which party's candidate is winning in this Chhattisgarh constituency and more details of Rajnandgaon seat in Chhattisgarh Assembly election.


Rajnandgaon Election Result 2023 Live Updates: Of all the states that went to polls in November 2023, Chhattisgarh is the only one which saw two-phases of polling. The results are finally being declared after the voting, that saw naxal attacks in certain areas. Check Chhattisgarh’s seat-wise results on map, track how the big netas are performing, all the important live updates, latest news on the election results of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Chhattisgarh.

The 20 seats of the 90-member state assembly went to poll on November 7 and the remaining 70 on November 17. A total of 1,181 candidates are in the field to gain the mandate of over 2 crore voters in Chhattisgarh.


Live Updates of Rajnandgaon Election Results 2023

Rajnandgaon, which falls under Rajnandgaon district, has the constituency number 75 in the Chhattisgarh state Assembly. The Rajnandgaon seat is reserved for General category candidates.

In the 2023 Chhattisgarh state Assembly Elections, Rajnandgaon constituency is witnessing a fight between Girish Dewangan of the Congress and Dr. Raman Singh of the BJP.

BJP has won in this seat of Chhattisgarh. We have updated this result of 75 based on the live counting of votes.

In the 2018 Chhattisgarh elections, the Rajnandgaon seat was won by the BJP candidate Dr. Raman Singh. The Congress candidate Karuna Shukla had come in second place.

In 2013, the Rajnandgaon constituency was won by the BJP candidate Dr. Raman and the runner-up was the Congress candidate Alka Uday Mudliyar.

Rajnandgaon assembly constituency falls under Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha constituency, which is currently held by the BJP.


Rajnandgaon Assembly Election 2023

Female voters outnumber male voters in Chhattisgarh. Of the total 2,03,93,160 registered voters in Chhattisgarh 1,01,35,561 are male, whereas 1,02,56,846 are female voters. The state also has 753 voters of third gender.

As per the final polling figures, 76.31 per cent exercised their franchise in Chhattisgarh Assembly election 2023. In the 2018 Chhattisgarh elections, the total voter turnout was 76.45 per cent.

According to the electoral roll published by the state's Election Commission, there are a total of 211468 electors in Rajnandgaon constituency for the 2023 Chhattisgarh Assembly elections. Male voters hold a total of 103737, while the count of total female voters in Rajnandgaon are 107729. Rajnandgaon seat saw a voter turnout of 79.13 per cent in the 2023 Chhattisgarh election.


Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2023

Chhattisgarh witnesses a bipolar electoral battle. The main fight in Chhattisgarh Assembly election 2023 is between the incumbent Congress, led by chief minister Bhupesh Baghel and the opposition Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). Smaller parties like Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Gondwana Ganatantra Party (GGP), and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) also have some presence in a few seats.

The BJP and the Congress have fielded their candidates in all 90 seats. The alliance of BSP and GGP have also put down candidates in all the 90 seats. Among other parties, AAP has fielded candidates in 71 constituencies and JCC, formed by late CM Ajit Jogi, has fielded 77 candidates in Chhattisgarh.

As per the ADR (Association for Democratic Reforms) Report, which analysed 1,178 candidates out of 1,181 candidates, there are 155 female candidates. The outgoing assembly of Chhattisgarh has the highest proportion of female MLAs in the country at 14.44 per cent.

Since Chhattisgarh was carved out from Madhya Pradesh and became a separate state in 2000, the state has seen only three chief ministers. Congress, led by the late Ajit Jogi, formed the first government in 2000. Chhattisgarh's first election as a newly-formed was held in 2003, in which BJP emerged as the winner. The saffron party-led by Raman Singh won the following Assembly elections in 2008 and 2013.

The BJP's 15-year rule finally came to an end in 2018 Assembly elections when it could only manage to win 15 seats and Congress' win in 68 seats helped it return to power in Chhattisgarh. Bhupesh Baghel was made the chief minister.

In the 2023 Chhattisgarh Assembly election, the Congress faces a stiff challenge from the BJP as the saffron party is keen on returning to power in the state. The BJP has fielded three MPs including a Union Minister.

While the BJP didn't declare a chief ministerial candidate, Congress is banking on the face of incumbent Bhupesh Baghel.

Around 32% of Chhattisgarh's population are Scheduled Tribes and the state has around 29 of its 90 seats reserved for them. Therefore, tribal votes play a key role in the outcome of the elections here. There are 10 seats reserved for Scheduled Castes too.

Farmers and their issues also play key role in this mainly agrarian state. Unemployment and rural economy are other prominent issues.

The BJP's election campaign targeted the Bhupesh Baghel-government over the Mahadev App row and alleged corruption. The Congress is counting on the five-year tenure of its state government to gain another victory.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More