ADVERTISEMENTREMOVE AD

WhatsApp Desktop Update: View Once Feature for Media Files Rolling Out; Details

WhatsApp Web Feature: The 'view once' update for photos and videos is likely to be enabled soon.

Published
Tech News
2 min read
story-hero-img
i
Aa
Aa
Small
Aa
Medium
Aa
Large
Hindi Female

WhatsApp is now working on reintroducing the ability for its desktop users to share "view once" videos with contacts. Last year, the popular Meta-owned instant messaging platform removed the feature to send and open "view once" photos and videos from the WhatsApp Web version. It is important to note that this decision was met with criticism from some people. Now, it is planning to introduce the feature again for WhatsApp Web users and you should know the latest updates.

The WhatsApp "view once" feature is extremely popular among users and it is available on all mobile versions. You must update the app to use the "view once" photos and videos feature. People using WhatsApp Web on their desktops could not access the update. Now, they can finally use it when the update is rolled out for everyone.

ADVERTISEMENTREMOVE AD

According to the latest details available online, the view once feature for WhatsApp Web is likely to be available soon. You can send videos and pictures to your contacts after enabling the new update.

WhatsApp Web ‘View Once’ Feature: Details

Similar to Snapchat, WhatsApp's "view once" update allows users to send temporary videos and photos without them being saved to the receiver's gallery. This feature is particularly beneficial for sharing sensitive or confidential media files.

You can access the media for a particular period as it is not permanently stored on the recipient's mobile. According to the details shared by Wabetainfo, WhatsApp will now re-enable the 'view once' option for photos and videos on desktop applications.

One should note that the feature is likely to be updated for both Windows and macOS. Users must be alert to know the latest updates about the feature.

0

It is important to note that if the recipient does not open the photo or video within fourteen days of receiving it, the media will be automatically removed from the conversation.

You must select the view once option whenever you send a media file if you want it to be temporarily available. Media sent after enabling this feature is solely for a single viewing and the sender cannot save it. You cannot access the media file anymore after opening it once so be careful.

WhatsApp is famous for protecting the privacy of its users. The instant messaging platform introduces new features and updates for the benefit of its users.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from tech-and-auto and tech-news

Topics:  WhatsApp   WhatsApp Update   WhatsApp web 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
×
×