TMC Returns in Bengal With 213 Seats, Mamata Loses From Nandigram

Catch all the live updates on the West Bengal Assembly election results here.

8 min read
Hindi Female

The Trinamool Congress has scored a decisive victory in the West Bengal Assembly elections, winning 213 of the 292 seats, while the BJP failed to reach the three-digit mark, even though it made massive gains from the 2016 elections.

While the BJP won 77 seats, the Left-Congress-ISF alliance won one, and an Independent grabbed another seat.

After much confusion about the results, BJP's Suvendu Adhikari emerged as winner from the high-profile Nandigram seat over Mamata Banerjee. The incumbent CM said she suspected 'malpractice in the counting process and would take the Election Commission to court, if necessary.”

The counting of votes on Sunday came amid a massive surge in COVID-19 cases and deaths across the country, with severe shortages of hospital beds, medical oxygen, and medicines being reported.

  • PM Narendra Modi tweeted congratulating Mamata Banerjee and said the Centre will extend all help to fight COVID-19
  • Addressing the TMC workers, Mamata Banerjee urged everyone to avoid victory rallies and reiterated the need for following COVID protocols
  • On the day of counting, West Bengal reported 17,515 new COVID-19 cases and 92 deaths

Catch the updates on the election results in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Assam here, here and here.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

11:14 PM , 02 May

Swapan Dasgupta Loses Tarakeshwar Constituency

Veteran journalist and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Swapan Dasgupta lost against Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Ramendu Sinharay in the Tarakeshwar assembly constituency.

11:11 PM , 02 May

Big Loss for Babul Supriyo in Tollygunj Seat

Tollygunge was considered by many as one of the toughest seats for the Trinamool, where the BJP fielded singer-turned-politician MP Babul Supriyo against seasoned campaigner Arup Biswas.

After final round of counting, Supriyo was placed in the third position after Biswas and CPIM candidate Debdut Ghosh.

11:08 PM , 02 May

Trinamool Turncoats Fail to Lift BJP in Bengal

Of the 34 Trinamool leaders who had joined the BJP, 13 were given tickets and the majority of them lost, including heavyweights like Rajib Banerjee, Sabyasachi Dutta and Rabindranath Bhattacharjee.

9:33 PM , 02 May

TMC Writes to EC For 'Immediate Recount' of Votes in Nandigram

The Trinamool Congress has written to the chief electoral officer, West Bengal, for, "immediate re-counting of votes in Nandigram AC 210 and postal ballots." It has cited that “preposterous and illegal incidents have taken place while counting of votes was taking place in Nandigram.”

Catch all the live updates on the West Bengal Assembly election results here.

Published: 02 May 2021, 7:18 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More