9 Colors of Navratri 2023: Know the Importance of Each Color Day-Wise

Check the importance of different colors of Navratri 2023

2 min read
Hindi Female

Shardiya Navratri 2023 began yesterday, 15 October 2023, and yesterday was the first day of Navratri. Navratri or Durga Puja is celebrated with great pomp and show in the country. People worship different Goddesses in these nine days and they also have a special color for each day. Every color has its own significance. Know the significance of each color day-wise for Navratri 2023.


Navratri Day 1 - Orange honors Goddess Shailaputri, vibrant orange is chosen for the first day of Navratri, symbolizing energy, enthusiasm, and new beginnings. It is the color of the rising sun, which signifies the dawn of a new chapter and the promise of a bright future.

Navratri Day 2 - White is the color of Goddess Brahmacharini, the white attire, the beads, and the water pot she carries, all signify her commitment to austerity. White color symbolizes purity and peace, as well as the pursuit of knowledge and intellectual enlightenment.

Navratri Day 3 - Red- On the third day of Navratri, devotees adorn themselves in fiery red attire to honor Goddess Chandraghanta. She is the symbol of beauty and bravery. Red is the color of passion, love, and courage. It signifies the intensity of life and the warmth of the heart.

Navratri Day 4 - Royal Blue is dedicated to Goddess Kushmanda, the creator of the universe. In honor of Goddess Kushmanda, the color of choice is regal blue. Royal Blue symbolizes dignity, abundance, and creative energy. It represents the vast expanse of the sky and the endless opportunities that life holds.

Navratri Day 5 - Yellow is dedicated to Goddess Skandamata. To honor her, devotees don the vibrant color of sunshine yellow. Yellow is associated with happiness, optimism, and the warmth of the sun. It symbolizes the bright and joyful aspects of life, filling one's heart with hope and positivity.

Navratri Day 6 - Green is dedicated to Goddess Katyayani, a symbol of courage and victory. To honor Katyayani, devotees adorn themselves in the soothing and refreshing hue of green. Green symbolizes growth, balance, and the bountiful qualities of nature. It's a color that reflects fertility and the well-being of the earth.

Navratri Day 7 - Grey is dedicated to Goddess Kalaratri. To honor her, devotees choose the color grey. Grey is a mysterious color that signifies subtlety and the enigmatic aspects of life. It represents the vastness of the cosmos and the strength to confront challenges head-on.

Navratri Day 8 - Purple is dedicated to Goddess Mahagauri, the embodiment of beauty and grace. To honor Mahagauri, devotees opt for the rich and opulent shade of purple. Purple is a color often associated with luxury, grandeur, and nobility. It signifies regal elegance and the pursuit of a life filled with abundance.

Navratri Day 9 - Peacock Green- The ninth and final day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Siddhidatri, the bestower of supernatural powers or siddhis. To honor Siddhidatri, devotees choose the majestic peacock green, a color that signifies richness, diversity, and the splendor of the natural world. It symbolizes the beauty of nature and its majesty, reflecting the vibrancy of life.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)


Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from lifestyle

Topics:  Navratri   Happy Navratri 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More