Uttarakhand Election Results 2022: BJP Wins State but CM Dhami Loses Seat

Catch all the live updates of the 2022 Uttarakhand Assembly election results here.

Uttarakhand Election Results 2022: BJP Wins State but CM Dhami Loses Seat

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami lost to Congress' Bhuwan Chandra Kapri in Khatima, even as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) garnered a clear victory, after surpassing the majority mark.

The saffron party ended up with 47 seats, while the Congress managed to win 19 seats counting in the 2022 Uttarakhand Assembly elections.

  • Congress candidate and former CM Harish Rawat lost in Lalkuwa constituency

  • Uttarakhand has 70 Assembly seats, of which 36 need to be won by a party or alliance to form a majority

  • In the state's previous elections in 2017, the BJP had won by an overwhelming margin, bagging 57 of the 70 seats

  • Held on 14 February, the single-phase Uttarakhand Assembly elections saw 62.5 percent voter turnout

Follow live updates on the election results of Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, and Manipur on The Quint.

To see how the key candidates are faring in Uttarakhand, click here.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

7:26 AM , 11 Mar

BJP Wins 47 Seats

BJP finishes with 47 seats, while Congress manages to win 19.

9:10 PM , 10 Mar

'We Will Implement Uniform Civil Code': CM Dhami

As the BJP won the Assembly elections in Uttarakhand, incumbent Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, according to ANI, said:

“We will form a high-level committee after forming the govt to implement the Uniform Civil Code. The committee will prepare a draft and we will implement it in Uttarakhand as we've promised to the people of the state.”
8:10 PM , 10 Mar

BJP Grabs 39 Seats, Garners Clear Victory

The BJP has picked up 39 seats in the state and is leading in another eight seats. The majority mark in the state Assembly for the formation of the government is 36.

7:50 PM , 10 Mar

BJP Crosses Halfway Mark, Wins State

Garnering 37 seats, BJP crosses the halfway mark, winning state.

Published: 10 Mar 2022, 7:02 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News