Manipur Election Results 2022: BJP Garners 32 Seats, Wins the State Polls

Catch all the live updates of 2022 Manipur Assembly election results here.

5 min read
Hindi Female

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Manipur Assembly elections, securing 32 seats. The National People's Party finished second with victory in seven seats.

BJP candidate and Chief Minister Biren Singh won his seat of Heingang in Imphal East. Meanwhile, Congress leader and former CM Okram Ibobi Singh won from Thoubal constituency.

BJP candidate Thokchom Satyabrata Singh won the Yaiskul constituency.

  • Manipur has 60 Assembly seats, of which 31 need to be won by a party or alliance to form a majority

  • In 2017, while the Congress had won 28 seats out of the total 60 seats and became the single largest party, it did not reach the magic number of 31

  • Meanwhile, the BJP, despite winning only 21 seats, had formed the government last time with the backing of four National People’s Party (NPP) MLAs, four Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLAs, one MLA each from Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), and an Independent

Follow live updates on the election results of Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, and Uttarakhand on The Quint.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

11:02 PM , 10 Mar

BJP Wins 32 Seats

BJP wins 32 seats, securing a win in the Manipur Assembly elections. The National People's Party finishes second with victory in seven seats.

7:26 PM , 10 Mar

'Thank the People of Manipur': N Biren Singh 

"I thank the people of Manipur. I thank our national leaders PM Modi, Amit Shah, JP Nadda for guiding us, and due to that, we've won in Manipur. Victory in Goa, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh shows PM Modi's mantra of 'Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas'," says Manipur CM N Biren Singh.

"Thank you, Manipur! The historic victory that we have achieved today is a testament of the people's faith in the dynamic leadership of PM Narendra Modi and citizen centric governance. My heartiest congratulations to all the Karyakartas of BJP."

Catch all the live updates of 2022 Manipur Assembly election results here.
7:08 PM , 10 Mar

Manipur CM N Biren Singh Wins From Heingang

Incumbent CM N Biren Singh wins from Heingang.

Catch all the live updates of 2022 Manipur Assembly election results here.
6:19 PM , 10 Mar

Amit Shah Thanks the Public in Manipur After BJP Win 

"Thank you, Manipur. PM Modi Ji’s resolve for a prosperous North-East has earned him a special place in the hearts of the people of our NE region, this victory is a testament to the same. Congratulations to CM Biren Singh Ji, Sharda Devi Ji and our karyakartas," he tweets.


Published: 10 Mar 2022, 7:07 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More