Third Test Between India and South Africa to be Hosted in Cape Town

India will tour South Africa in December 2021.

2 min read
Hindi Female

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Friday that the Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town will host the third Test between India and South Africa from January 3-7 in 2022. Initially, Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg was supposed to host the first as well as the third Test of the Freedom Trophy.

Apart from this change in the schedule, everything remains the same with Pretoria to host the Boxing Day Test. Boland Park in Paarl will host the first ODI with two more ODIs to be played in Cape Town.


For the four-match T20I series, Cape Town will host the first two T20Is while the other two T20Is will be played in Paarl. India are due to tour South Africa for an all-format series between December 17 and January 26.

"Cricket South Africa is excited to welcome India back to South Africa, which also significantly marks the 30th anniversary of South Africa's first tour to India after re-entry into International Cricket in 1991. This tour affirms our unique relationship with the BCCI," CSA Director of Cricket Graeme Smith said in a release.

"This tour comes at a fitting moment when Cricket South Africa, together with the people of the world celebrate Mahatma Gandhi's 152nd birthday. We are indeed indebted to India for its support to our cricket efforts over the years. We are looking forward to hosting our guests for what promises to be nail-biting on-field encounters," said Pholetsi Moseki, CSA Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

The last time India toured South Africa for an all-format tour, South Africa won the Test series 2-1 while India won the ODI and T20I series 5-1 and 2-1 respectively in 2018.



Test series

First Test: December 17-21, Johannesburg

Second Test: December 26-30, Centurion

Third Test: January 3-7, Cape Town

ODI series

First ODI: January 11, Paarl

Second ODI: January 14, Cape Town

Third ODI: January 16, Cape Town

T20I series

First T20I: January 19, Cape Town

Second T20I: January 21, Cape Town

Third T20I: January 23, Paarl

Fourth T20I: January 26, Paarl

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from sports and cricket

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More