ICC World Cup Schedule Announced: India vs Pak on 14 Oct, Final on 19 November

The 2023 ODI World Cup will be played from 5 October to 19 November in India.

4 min read

The 2023 ODI World Cup, hosted by India, will feature 10 teams and stretch across 46 days and 10 venues, with the BCCI and ICC finally announcing the schedule of the tournament on Tuesday in Mumbai, with just over three months to go for the opener.

The tournament opener will feature the finalists of the 2019 edition, England and New Zealand, and will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, on 5 October. Ahmedabad in fact will also host the big India vs Pakistan clash on 14 October as well as the big final on 19 November. 20 November has been slotted by the ICC as the reserve day, if needed.

The semi-finals will be played on 15 and 16 November at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium and the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The final and the two semi-finals will be day-night fixtures with the matches getting underway at 2pm IST.

There are six day matches that will get underway at 10:30am IST while all other fixtures will be day-night games, starting at 2pm IST.


Apart from Ahmedabad, the tournament will be played at Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai and Pune. Hyderabad, Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram will host the practice games.

The 2023 ODI World Cup will be played from 5 October to 19 November in India.

India's Campaign

India open their campaign against Australia in Chennai on 8 October with Delhi getting the match against Afghanistan on 11 October, Dharamsala will host the New Zealand fixture on 22 October with the match against Australia being played in Lucknow on 29 October.

  1. 8 October: India vs Australia, Chennai

  2. 11 October: India vs Afghanistan, Delhi

  3. 14 October: India vs Pakistan, Ahmedabad

  4. 19 October: India vs Bangladesh, Pune

  5. 22 October: India vs New Zealand, Dharamsala

  6. 29 October: India vs England, Lucknow

  7. 2 November: India vs Sri Lanka, Mumbai

  8. 5 November: India vs South Africa, Kolkata

  9. 12 November: India vs Netherlands, Bengaluru

Interestingly, the ICC has also announced that if India reach the semi-finals, their match will be played in Mumbai unless Pakistan too qualify and are slated to play India, in which case, the match will be played in Kolkata.

Apart from the big opening encounter of the tournament and India’s face-off against Pakistan and also the 2019 semi-finalists Australia, the tournament is filled with a host of crucial clashes.

Australia take on South Africa on October 12 in Lucknow hoping for a reversal of fortunes as a dramatic meeting in the last edition ended in the Proteas’ favour.

Pakistan will face Australia in Bengaluru on October 20, while England clash against South Africa the next day in Mumbai.

The final group stage match will be England up against Pakistan in Kolkata on November 12.

2023 ICC World Cup Format

A total of 10 teams will be competing for the title in the 13th edition of the tournament, being hosted by India, with all teams playing each other in the round robin format league stage. 

The top four teams with the most points will then progress onto the semi-finals, with each victory earning the team two points each.

The top seven teams from the ICC World Cup Super League 2020-23 cycle have already qualified for the tournament and are joined by India who take up the host’s spot. The last two spots will be decided at the 2023 World Cup Qualifier which are currently underway, between 10 teams, including West Indies, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, Scotland and the UAE. 

The 2023 ODI World Cup will be played from 5 October to 19 November in India.

Revised fixtures of 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

(Photo: ICC)


2023 ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule by Venue


  1. 5 October – England vs New Zealand

  2. 14 October – India vs Pakistan

  3. 4 November – England vs Australia

  4. 10 November – South Africa vs Afghanistan

  5. 19 November – Final


  1. 6 October – Pakistan vs Netherlands

  2. 9 October – New Zealand vs Netherlands

  3. 10 October – Pakistan vs Sri Lanka


  1. 7 October – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

  2. 10 October – England vs Bangladesh

  3. 17 October – South Africa vs Netherlands

  4. 22 October – India vs New Zealand

  5. 28 October – Australia vs New Zealand


  1. 7 October – South Africa vs Sri Lanka

  2. 11 October – India vs Afghanistan

  3. 15 October – England vs Afghanistan

  4. 25 October – Australia vs Netherlands

  5. 6 November – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka


  1. 8 October – India vs Australia

  2. 13 October – New Zealand vs Bangladesh

  3. 18 October – New Zealand vs Afghanistan

  4. 23 October – Pakistan vs Afghanistan

  5. 27 October – Pakistan vs South Africa


  1. 12 October – Australia vs South Africa

  2. 16 October – Australia vs Sri Lanka

  3. 21 October – Netherlands vs Sri Lanka

  4. 29 October – India vs England

  5. 3 November – Netherlands vs Afghanistan


  1. 19 October – India vs Bangladesh

  2. 30 October – Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka

  3. 1 November – New Zealand vs South Africa

  4. 8 November – England vs Netherlands

  5. 11 November – Australia vs Bangladesh


  1. 20 October – Australia vs Pakistan

  2. 26 October – England vs Sri Lanka

  3. 4 November – New Zealand vs Pakistan

  4. 9 November – New Zealand vs Sri Lanka

  5. 12 November – India vs Netherlands


  1. 21 October – England vs South Africa

  2. 24 October – South Africa vs Bangladesh

  3. 2 November – India vs Sri Lanka

  4. 7 November – Australia vs Afghanistan

  5. 15 November – Semifinal 1


  1. 28 October – Netherlands vs Bangladesh

  2. 31 October – Pakistan vs Bangladesh

  3. 5 November – India vs South Africa

  4. 11 November – England vs Pakistan

  5. 16 November – Semifinal 2

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More