Karnataka Election Live: After BJP's Loss, Basavaraj Bommai Resigns As CM

With the BJP losing its reigns in Karnataka, Basavaraj Bommai will step down as CM of the state today evening.

19 min read
Hindi Female

Karnataka Elections Results 2023 LIVE Updates: With the BJP losing reigns in Karnataka, Basavaraj Bommai has stepped down as the Chief Minister of the state today evening.

Earlier in the day, Bommai had conceded defeat and admitted that the performance was not up to the mark.

Meanwhile, addressing a press conference at the Congress headquarters in New Delhi, Rahul Gandhi said, “Nafrat ki baazar band ho gayi hai, mohabbat ki dukaan khul gayi hai.”(Market of hatred has shut down, shop of love has opened).

The Congress is winning/leading in more seats in Bangalore, Kalyan Karnataka, Kittur Karnataka and South regions. The BJP is leading in coastal Karnataka regions.

The election had witnessed a high-octane battle between the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)).

  • Former CM & Congress leader Siddaramaiah defeated BJP's V Somanna by a margin of 46,163 votes

  • BJP's BC Nagesh, who was at the forefront of the Hijab ban in the state, has lost to Congress by a margin of 17652 votes

  • Karnataka Congress chief DK Shivakumar won from Kanakapura seat

  • Basavaraj Bommai has secured victory in the Shiggaon constituency

  • Former Karnataka deputy chief minister, Laxman Savadi, who had crossed over to the Congress after the BJP denied him a ticket from Athani, has now won from the seat

  • Congress leader and son of party president Mallikarjun Kharge, Priyank Kharge has won Chittapur constituency in Kalaburagi district

  • The Congress has asked all its MLAs to reach Bengaluru today, even as early trends favour the party.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

8:20 AM , 14 May

BJP's CK Ramamurthy Wins in Jayanagar With 16 Votes

After multiple rounds of recounting, Bharatiya Janata Party's CK Ramamurthy won in Bengaluru's Jayanagar constituency with 16 votes.

Ramamurthy got 57,797 votes winning with a narrow margin against Congress's Sowmya Reddy who got 57,781 votes.

The result was announced after multiple rounds of recounting amid protests by the Congress and the BJP at the R V Institute of Management in Jayanagar assembly constituency in Bengaluru. Read more details here.

11:06 PM , 13 May

Tussle At Jayanagar Counting Centre

Tussle with police personnel has been reported at Jayanagar, which is the last constituency where counting continues.

The NewsMinute reported that recounting of votes continue, after Congress won by a narrow margin.

Congress MP DK Suresh tried to barge into the counting centre in Jayananagar and there was an angry exchange with police officers who stopped him, according to media reports.

Meanwhile, DK Shivakumar and Ramalinga Reddy reached too and were stopped by the police. Read more details here.

10:02 PM , 13 May

Bommai Steps Down As Chief Minister

After BJP lost the elections, Basavaraj Bommai has stepped down as Karnataka Chief Minister.

9:38 PM , 13 May

Bommai Arrives At Raj Bhawan To Tender Resignation

Karnataka Chief Minister and BJP leader Basavaraj Bommai arrives at Raj Bhawan to tender his resignation to the Governor.


Published: 13 May 2023, 7:11 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More