Discontent in LJP Over ‘Raw Deal’ in Seat Sharing for Bihar Polls

Ram Vilas Paswan’s party feels they were given a ‘raw deal’ by the BJP in the Bihar polls seat sharing arrangement.

2 min read
Hindi Female

Notwithstanding claims of an amicable seat sharing arrangement having been reached among NDA partners for Bihar assembly polls, discontent seems to be brewing in Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) over allotment of 40 seats to it.

LJP sources said there was a feeling in the party that Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) of former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi and RLSP of Union minister Upendra Kushwaha got a “better deal” given their political clout in the state.

The LJP feels that before HAM joined the NDA, the proposal from BJP was that it would contest 75 per cent of the state’s 243 assembly seats and the rest would go to LJP and RLSP. Another proposal mooted by BJP was that LJP and RLSP would get six assembly seats for every Lok Sabha seat contested by them in 2014. Under the arrangement, LJP, which has contested seven LS seats, would have got 42 and Kushwaha’s RLSP 18.


When the decision to include HAM into the NDA fold was taken, it was decided that the new entrant will get 12 seats to contest in the assembly polls, LJP sources said. Accordingly, it was decided that BJP will spare nine seats from its quota for Manjhi’s party, LJP two and RLSP one. Under that arrangement, LJP would have been allotted 40 seats, RLSP 17 and HAM 12, they said.

As Manjhi remained adamant on more seats, he ultimately succeeded in getting 20 and also extracted a promise that five of his candidates would contest on BJP symbols... HAM and RLSP secured a better deal than us despite our steadfast support to the NDA and our decision not to engage in hard bargain.
— a senior party leader said

Meanwhile, Chirag Paswan, son of the LJP chief and chairman of its Parliamentary Board, is scheduled to address a press conference tomorrow where he is likely to articulate the party’s unhappiness over the ‘raw’ deal it has got.

Earlier in the day, BJP president Amit Shah had announced the seat sharing formula under which BJP will contest 160 seats, LJP 40, RLSP 23 and HAM 20. Shah claimed that all differences over seat sharing had been sorted out.

There is no tug of war. There is no tension. You can see their smiling faces.
— Amit Shah, President, BJP

(With Inputs from PTI)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)


Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and politics

Topics:  BJP   Amit Shah   Ram Vilas Paswan 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More