Rajya Sabha: In Late Night Drama, BJP Gains in Maha, Cong Embarrassed in Haryana

Rajya Sabha Election 2022 polls result

13 min read
Hindi Female

After high-octane drama and overnight counting of votes for the Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on Friday, 10 June, the BJP made big gains in both the states.

The results for Rajasthan and Karnataka were also delayed, but were declared earlier on Friday evening. Here's how the parties fared in each state:

  • Maharashtra: Out of 6 seats in Congress-Shiv Sena-NCP ruled Maharashtra, the BJP secured three.

  • Haryana: The BJP won one of the two seats, while the other was bagged by an independent candidate it supports.

  • Rajasthan: The Congress registered a big win with three of the four Rajya Sabha seats, while the BJP could bag only one.

  • Karnataka: The BJP put up an impressive show, winning three seats, while the Congress could only win just one.

The counting, which was scheduled to begin at 5 pm for the Rajya Sabha elections in four states, was delayed in Maharashtra and Haryana as a delegations of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress met the Election Commission (EC) in Delhi over an alleged violations of protocol in the states.

  • While Congress' Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik, Pramod Tewari won in Rajasthan, the BJP now has Ghanshyam Tiwari as the RS face from the state

  • Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Jaggesh and Lehar Singh Siroya won from the BJP in Karnataka, while Jairam Ramesh won from the Congress

  • 41 candidates from 11 states did not face any opposition and were thus elected unopposed ahead of the polls

8:37 AM , 11 Jun

Congress's Ajay Maken Loses in Haryana

Of the two seats being contested in Haryana in the elections on Friday, one was won by the BJP and the other by Kartikeya Sharma, the media baron and Independent candidate it backed.

Congress's Ajay Maken, for whom the party initially claimed a victory, lost.

8:37 AM , 11 Jun

Piyush Goyal, Sanjay Raut Win in Maharashtra

Out of 6 seats in Maharashtra, BJP's Piyush Goyal, Anil Bonde, and Dhananjay Mahadik won 1 seat each. From the Maha Vikas Aghadi, Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut, Congress' Imran Pratapgarhi and NCP's Praful Patel won one seat each.

10:52 PM , 10 Jun

Maha Vikas Aghadi Writes to EC

Maha Vikas Aghadi writes to the EC demanding the cancellation of the vote of BJP MLA Sudhir Mungantiwar & independent MLA Ravi Rana for "violating provisions of conduct of election rules as well as Commission's settled view ordered in the Ahmed Patel 2017 case."

10:43 PM , 10 Jun

'Defeat of Those Who Wanted To Bulldoze Democracy': Surjewala

"This is the defeat of those powers who wanted to buy Rajasthan's self-respect in vote market, disrupt current state government, run a bulldozer on democracy... money and muscle power, income tax, ED, black money lost," Randeep Singh Surjewala, who won a seat from Rajasthan in the polls, was quoted as saying.


Published: 10 Jun 2022, 9:41 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More