India vs NZ 3rd T20I: Match Tied on DLS, India Clinch Series by a 1-0 Margin

India vs NZ 3rd T20I: The rain-marred third T20I ended on a tie after scores were level on DLS.

2 min read
Hindi Female

The third T20I of the three-match T20I series between India and New Zealand ended in a tie, here at Napier's McLean Park on Tuesday, 22 November. Courtesy of this outcome, India emerged victorious in the series by a 1-0 margin.

Chasing a target of 161 runs set by the Blackcaps, the men in blue had a difficult start with Ishan Kishan losing his wicket in only the second over. Things turned worse for Hardik Pandya’s team when in the third over, both Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer were sent back to the pavilion by Tim Southee.

Suryakumar Yadav tried to stabilise India’s innings by building a partnership with his captain, but the number one ranked T20I batter in men’s cricket could not score more than 13 runs. India were struggling at 75/4 when rain interrupted the action.

Fortunately for the Indian side, they were level with the DLS par score after nine overs, resulting in a tie. Courtesy of their 65-run win in the second T20I, India have won this series 1-0.

Arshdeep, Siraj Scalp Four-Fers

Earlier, New Zealand scored 160 runs while batting first. Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips were the Kiwis’ best batters, as both struck half-centuries, while Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj starred with the ball for India.

After being asked to bowl first, Hardik Pandya’s Indian team had a good start as Arshdeep Singh trapped opener Finn Allen leg before wicket in the second over. Playing as the replacement of Kane Williamson, Mark Chapman also lost his wicket soon after scoring only 12 runs.


However, Phillips and Conway helped the hosts get back in the game. The duo added 86 runs for the third-wicket stand, with Conway scoring a 49-ball 59 and Phillips playing the aggressor’s role, scoring 54 runs in 33 deliveries.

It seemed the Kiwis will comfortably reach the 170-run mark, but India bounced back in style by picking up eight wickets in the last 23 deliveries. For the visitors, Arshdeep and Siraj picked up four wickets each, while Harshal Patel also got a wicket to his name.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More