Bypoll Results: AAP Loses Sangrur, Retains Delhi; BJP Wins Big in UP

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed gratitude to "all those who voted for the Bharatiya Janata Party."

3 min read
Hindi Female

With the 2022 bypolls results in, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday, 26 June, expressed gratitude to "all those who voted for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Delhi and Punjab."

He added in a tweet, "We will keep working among the people and keep raising issues of public welfare."

Counting of votes started at 8 am in three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats in Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, and Delhi where bypolls were held on 23 June.

Photos of Winning Candidates:

  • 01/08

    BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua' receives his 'Certificate of Election' from District Magistrate Vishal Bhardwaj after winning the Azamgarh Lok Sabha by-elections, in Azamgarh, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 02/08

    Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha celebrates with his supporters after his lead during the counting of votes of the Tripura Assembly by-elections. 

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 03/08

    SAD (Amritsar) candidate Simranjit Singh Mann receives the 'Certificate of Election' after winning the Sangrur Lok Sabha bypolls, in Sangrur, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 04/08

    Congress candidate Sudip Roy Barman with supporters after alleged violence on the result day of Tripura Assembly by-elections, in Agartala, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 05/08

    Congress candidate Shilpi Neha Tirkey (L) with BJP candidate Gangotri Kujur after the former won Mandar Assembly constituency by-election, in Ranchi, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 06/08

    BJP candidate Malina Debnath flashes victory sign after winning from Jubarajnagar seat, during the Tripura Assembly by-elections, in Dharmanagar, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 07/08

    BJP candidate Ghanshyam Singh Lodhi receives the 'Certificate of Election' after winning the Rampur Lok Sabha by-elections, in Rampur, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

  • 08/08

    AAP candidate Durgesh Pathak celebrates with supporters after winning Rajinder Nagar by-elections, in New Delhi, Sunday.

    (Photo: PTI)

Meanwhile, Shiromani Akali Dal-Amritsar (SAD-A) clearly emerged as the biggest winner with party candidate Simranjit Singh Mann winning with a thumping majority from Punjab's Sangrur Lok Sabha seat, the home seat of chief minister Bhagwant Mann of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

In a major blow to Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh, BJP's Ghanshyam Lodhi defeated SP's Mohd Asim Raja in Rampur Lok Sabha constituency by over 40,000 votes, while Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua' defeated Dharmendra Yadav in Azamgarh.

Some relief for AAP came in Delhi as its candidate Durgesh Pathak won the Rajinder Nagar Assembly seat with a margin of over 11,000 votes, defeating BJP's Rajesh Bhatia.

Other Winners Include:

  • Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha won from Town Bardowali Assembly seat

  • BJP candidates Malina Debnath won from Jubarajnagar Assembly constituency and Swapna Das Paul won from Surna in Tripura

  • Meanwhile, Congress candidate Sudip Roy Barman registered a victory from Agartala

  • YSRCP's M Vikram Reddy won from the Atmakur Assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh Assembly constituency by over 84,000 seats

  • Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress wins Jharkhand's Mandar Assembly bypoll

Meanwhile, after winning the Sangrur seat, Mann said in a tweet, "I am grateful to our voters of Sangrur for having elected me as your representative in parliament. I will work hard to ameliorate the sufferings of our farmers, farm-labour, traders and everyone in my constituency."


'Hum Jeet Gaye': Kejriwal Thanks People of Rajinder Nagar

AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal thanked the people of Rajinder Nagar and said in a tweet in Hindi, "Heartfelt thanks to the people of Rajendra Nagar. I am grateful for this immense affection and love of the people of Delhi. This inspires us to work harder and serve. People defeated their (BJP) dirty politics and appreciated our good work. Thank you Rajendra Nagar, thank you Delhi."

He also shared a photo with Pathak saying, "Hum jeet gaye (We won)."

After the victory, AAP leader Raghav Chadha said in a tweet, "I thank all the constituents of Rajinder Nagar assembly constituency for once again showering their love and blessing on AAP. Today’s by poll victory is an affirmation of ‘Kejriwal Model of Governance.’ Best wishes to my brother Durgesh Pathak, as I pass on the baton to him."

Further, Pathak said, "This is CM Kejriwal's victory, it's victory of works done by AAP. BJP had no agenda here, had lost the election on day 1. They will lose in every election including upcoming Nagar Nigam elections here."


Agartala, Jubarajnagar, Surma, and Town Bardowali are four seats which went to polls in Tripura. Congress candidate Sudip Roy Barman registered a victory from Agartala.

In Uttar Pradesh's Azamgarh and Rampur, both Samajwadi party strongholds, bypolls were necessitated after the resignations of party chief Akhilesh Yadav and senior leader Azam Khan, respectively.

The bypolls in Delhi's Rajinder Nagar took place after incumbent MLA Raghav Chadha resigned on being elected to the Rajya Sabha.

The by-election in Andhra Pradesh was held to fill a vacancy after Industries Minister Mekapati Goutham Reddy died in February.

(With inputs from PTI.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and politics

Topics:  2022 Bypolls 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More