Jhansi Election Result 2024 Live Updates: BJP's Anurag Sharma Has Won This Lok Sabha Seat

Jhansi Election Result Live Updates: Get all the latest news and updates on Lok Sabha elections 2024 results on The Quint.

2 min read

Jhansi Lok Sabha Election Result 2024 Live Updates: With the counting of votes for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections underway, the results for one of the biggest elections in the world are finally being declared.

Over seven thousand candidates are in the electoral fray to gain the mandate of over 900 million eligible voters across 543 constituencies spread across 28 states and 9 union territories. The voting for these parliamentary elections were held in seven phases from 19 April to 1 June 2024. Now, it is time for the results.

For all the latest news and updates on Lok Sabha Election Result 2024, click here


Live Updates of Jhansi Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

The polling for Jhansi was held in Phase 5 on 20 May.

The key candidates for the 2024 General Elections in Jhansi are Anurag Sharma (BJP) and Pradeep Jain 'Aditya' (Congress).

As per the latest trends of counting of votes for 2024 Lok Sabha elections, BJP's Anurag Sharma has won this Jhansi seat.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Jhansi seat was won by BJP candidate Anurag Sharma, while SP candidate Shyam Sundar Singh had come in second place.

In 2014's General Elections, Jhansi constituency was won by BJP candidate Uma Bharati and SP candidate Dr. Chandrapal Singh Yadav was the runner-up.

Assembly seats that fall under Jhansi parliamentary constituency include Babina, Jhansi Nagar, Mauranipur, Lalitpur, Mehroni.

Jhansi is one of the Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh.


Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2024

General Elections in Uttar Pradesh holds major significance because the state has the biggest share of seats in Lok Sabha. This year's elections saw the state going to polls across all the seven phases from 19 April to 1 June.

Out of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, the state’s ruling party BJP is contesting on 75 of them, while its NDA partners Apna Dal (Soneylal), Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) got two seats each and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party (SBSP) got the remaining one seat. According to the INDIA alliance parties in the state, Samajwadi Party (SP), has fielded candidates on 62 seats, leaving 17 seats for Congress and one seat for Trinamool Congress.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh, the two major forces of the state – SP and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) – joined hands against BJP. But they could only win 15 seats (10 BSP and 5 SP). BJP maintained its edge by winning 62 seats and its ally ADAL secured two seats. Congress could win just one seat. In the previous Lok Sabha elections of 2014, the 'Modi wave' helped BJP win 71 seats and its ally Apna Dal won two seats, too. SP was left with just five, and Congress won two seats. BSP suffered a major upset as it failed to win even a single seat.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More