T20 World Cup: India’s Matches in Super 8 – Opponents, Dates, Venues & Timings

Notably, the top teams from each of the two Super 8 groups will advance to the semi-finals.

2 min read

Team India’s final group stage match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 against Canada on 15 June in Lauderhill was abandoned without a ball being bowled, due to a wet outfield.

Consequently, the men in blue, who had already secured their place in the Super 8 stage after defeating the USA on Wednesday (12 June), finished at the top of the Group A points table. Co-hosts USA secured second position, while Canada replaced Pakistan in third place.

India are now placed in Group 1 for the Super 8 stage of the tournament. 

Super 8 Groups

The Super 8 stage is divided into two groups, Group 1 and Group 2, each consisting of four teams that qualified from the initial group stage.

  • Group 1 will consist of India, Australia, Afghanistan, and any one of Bangladesh and the Netherlands. Notably, Bangladesh's chances are more promising than that of the Dutch.

  • Group 2 will consist of the USA, South Africa, West Indies, and either England or Scotland.

  • It should be noted that eight teams were already seeded, and their Super 8 groups were not dependent on their finishing position in the initial stage. India, for instance, was seeded as A1, and would have hence featured in Group 2 of the Super 8 even if they finished second in their group-stage campaign.

Notably, the top teams from each of the two Super 8 groups will advance to the semi-finals.


Which Teams Have Qualified?

India, USA, Australia, Afghanistan, West Indies, and South Africa have all secured their places in the Super 8 stage of the 2024 T20 World Cup. The remaining two spots will be filled by either England or Scotland from Group B and either Bangladesh or the Netherlands from Group D.

Now, let’s take a look at India’s Super 8 fixtures, opponents, and venues:

India's Fixtures for Super 8 

  1. 20 June (Thursday): India vs Afghanistan at the Kensington Oval in Barbados at 8:00pm IST 

  2. 22 June (Saturday): India vs Bangladesh/Netherlands at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua at 8:00pm IST

  3. 24 June (Monday): India vs Australia at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium in St Lucia at 8:00pm IST


India's Squad

  • Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Siraj

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More