IPL 2020: A Look at RCB’s Squad After Retention Deadline

Can RCB improve on their dismal 2019 IPL campaign?

1 min read
IPL 2020 Royal Challengers Banglore (RCB) Players: Virat Kohli is set to lead Royal Challengers Bangalore for yet another season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have been agonizingly close to the summit, but have never emerged victorious in all their IPL campaigns. Three finals losses can take a toll on the team’s psyche and maybe last year was a sign of that frustration.

Bangalore finished dead last in the IPL last year, severely under performing. The expectations for this perennial playoff team is high, and they have emptied out a large chunk of their team from last year ahead of the 2020 IPL auction, for a title push this year.

Bangalore has opened up slots for 12 new players, but don’t have the same salary leeway that a team like Kolkata has. Their deadly batting duo of AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli will suit up in RCB colours for another season, but bowlers like Dale Steyn and Tim Southee will be up for grabs at IPL auction next month.

RCB Released Players

Akshdeep Nath, Colin de Grandhomme, Dale Steyn, Heinrich Klassen, Himmat Singh, Kulwant Khejroliya, Marcus Stoinis, Milind Kumar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Prayas Ray Barman, Shimron Hetmyer, Tim Southee

RCB Squad Retained

AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Gurkeerat Singh, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Parthiv Patel, Pawan Negi, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Virat Kohli, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal

Player Slots Left

12 (six domestic, six overseas)

Money Spent

Rs 57.10 cr

Purse Remaining

Rs 27.90 cr

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!