AAP's Bhagwant Mann To Take Oath as Punjab CM on 16 March, Kejriwal To Attend

Bhagwant Mann has reportedly invited Delhi CM and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal for the swearing-in ceremony.

Punjab Election
2 min read
Hindi Female
Edited By :Tejas Harad

Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Punjab Chief Ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann will take oath on 16 March, news agency ANI reported on Friday, 11 March.

Mann, who was on Friday evening elected as the leader of AAP Legislative Party in Punjab, will meet the Governor of Punjab Banwarilal Purohit on Saturday to stake claim to form the government, ANI reported.

At the meeting, Mann appealed to all newly-elected MLAs to not become arrogant and work from areas from where they have been elected rather than just remaining in Chandigarh.

Mann has invited Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal for the swearing-in ceremony, the AAP national convener wrote on Twitter on Friday.

"I am confident that Bhagwant, as a Chief Minister, will fulfil every expectation of the people of Punjab," Kejriwal wrote on Twitter.

This came after Mann met Kejriwal at the latter's Delhi residence on Friday. A video shared by an AAP leader on Twitter showed Mann touching the feet of Kejriwal as a sign of respect, before embracing him and Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia.


Meanwhile, two days ahead of the oath-taking, Mann will also hold a roadshow in Amritsar on 13 March, along with Kejriwal.

Oath-Taking Ceremony To Be Held in Mann's Ancestral Village

On Thursday, addressing a gathering after his win from Dhuri, Mann had announced that the oath-taking ceremony will take place in the ancestral village of the renowned freedom fighter Bhagat Singh, Khatkar Kalan, in Nawanshahr district.

"The oath-taking ceremony will not be held at Raj Bhawan, but at Khatkar Kalan. The date will be announced later," he stated in his victory speech in Dhuri.

Mann registered a big win from his constituency Dhuri, where he was up against Congress candidate and sitting legislator Dalvir Singh Goldy.

Mann polled 82,592 votes in Dhuri, nearly 60,000 more than the Congress's Dalvir Singh Goldy (24,386).

Meanwhile, AAP won 92 of the state's 117 seats, with a vote share of 42.01 percent.

(With inputs from ANI.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)


Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from elections and punjab-election

Topics:  Aam Aadmi Party   Bhagwant Mann   Punjab CM 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More