NPP MLAs to Withdraw Resignation, Back BJP Govt in Manipur: Sangma

Earlier, nine MLAs in Manipur had dealt a huge blow to the N Biren Singh-led BJP government by withdrawing support.

2 min read

After Assam Minister and North-East Democratic Alliance chairperson Himanta Biswa Sarma assured that the National People's Party (NPP) in Manipur will continue to support the BJP government in the state, NPP chief and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma has endorsed his claims.

“National People's Party (NPP) ministers who resigned from Manipur Government will withdraw their resignations and support the government led by BJP's N Biren Singh,” said Sangma on Thursday, 25 June.

Later in the day, four NPP MLAs along with Sarma met Manipur Governor, Najma Heptulla, and submitted a letter of support for Biren Singh-led BJP government.


"People are with the government, they trust us and believe us, so we can overcome everything. Allegations and counter-allegations happen in politics, but reality is known by people," said Manipur Chief Minister, Biren Singh to ANI.

BJP leader Ram Madhav further said that the his party in the state had the "required support of the legislators and government is ready to prove its majority on the floor of the Assembly anytime". He added that there was no crisis and that it was all "social media discussion".

Himanta Biswa Sarma had tweeted on Wednesday that the NPP will continue to support the BJP government in Manipur, days after nine MLAs in the state dealt a huge blow to the N Biren Singh-led BJP government by withdrawing support.

"A NPP delegation led by (Meghalaya CM and NPP leader) Conrad Sangma and Dy Chief Minister of Manipur Sri Y Joy Kumar Singh met Honble President of BJP Sri JP Nadda ji today in New Delhi. NPP will continue to support BJP govt in Manipur for the development of Manipur [sic]," Sarma wrote on Twitter.

In another tweet, he said that Sangma and Singh had also met Home Minister Amit Shah, adding that "both the BJP and NPP will continue to work together for the development of Manipur."

Four members of the NPP, a coalition party of the BJP government in the state, including Jayantakumar Singh, Y Joykumar Singh, N Kayisii, and Letpao Haokip, had earlier withdrawn support to the BJP.

The state's lone Independent MLA of Jiribam and a Trinamool Congress MLA had also withdrawn support to the BJP-led coalition government. Besides, three BJP legislators had resigned and joined the Congress.

On 22 June, Sarma had said that the crisis in the Manipur government will be resolved in 2-3 days in the spirit of NEDA (North-East Democratic Alliance) and NDA (National Democratic Alliance) principles, reported PTI.

Amid these developments, the BJP did manage to win the lone Rajya Sabha seat in the state in the elections held recently. Significantly, BJP's Sarma had also visited Manipur along with Meghalaya Chief Minister and NPP leader Conrad Sangma on Sunday, reported NDTV.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More