Jharkhand Political Crisis: JMM, Congress MLAs Return Ahead of Floor Test Today

Jharkhand is ruled by a mahagathbandhan government comprising the JMM, Congress, RJD, and others.

2 min read

Over 40 Jharkhand MLAs from the ruling alliance flew back to Ranchi from Hyderabad ahead of a crucial floor test that is scheduled to take place on Monday, 5 February.

The MLAs, including those from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress, had been whisked away to Hyderabad on Thursday, 2 February, in an attempt to counter "poaching" of the legislators.

A political crisis had erupted in Jharkhand last week following the resignation and subsequent arrest of former Chief Minister Hemant Soren by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) in connection with an alleged multi-crore land scam.

Days after Hemant Soren stepped down, JMM leader Champai Soren was sworn in as the chief minister of the state on Friday, 3 February. After inviting Champai Soren to form the state government, Jharkhand Governor C P Radhakrishnan had directed him to prove the ruling alliance's majority on the floor of the House by Monday.

Former CM Hemant Soren, who is currently in ED custody, has been allowed to participate in the voting process of the floor test by a special court. Furthermore, the Jharkhand High Court is expected to hear a plea on Monday by Hemant Soren challenging his arrest by ED.


How Do the Numbers Stack Up in Jharkhand Assembly?

Jharkhand is ruled by a mahagathbandhan government comprising the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Indian National Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Nationalist Congress Party, and Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) Liberation.

Meanwhile, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) remains in the Opposition in the Assembly, along with the All Jharkhand Students Union and three independent MLAs, under the banner of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Here is the seat composition in the 81-member Jharkhand legislative Assembly, where the majority mark is 41:

The mahagathbandhan government:

  • JMM: 29

  • INC: 17

  • CPI(ML)L: 1

  • RJD: 1

Total = 48 seats

The Opposition:

  • BJP: 26

  • AJSU: 3

  • Independent: 2

Total = 31 seats

One seat is held by Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MLA Kamlesh Kumar Singh and another seat is vacant.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More