Tiptur Election Result 2023 Live Updates: Cong Won in This Karnataka Seat

Tiptur Election Result Live Updates: Get all updates on Karnataka assembly election results on The Quint.

2 min read
Hindi Female

Tiptur Assembly Election Result 2023 Live Updates: It’s time for the results of the Karnataka Assembly Election 2023. For all the important live updates on the Karnataka Assembly election results, click here.

A total of 2,613 candidates are in the poll fray. The ruling BJP fielded its candidates in all 224 Assembly seats, Congress in 223 (supporting Sarvodaya Karnataka Party in Melukote), JD(S) in 207, AAP in 209, BSP in 133, CPI(M) in 4, JD(U) in 8, NPP in 2, and 918 are independents.

Out of 2,613 candidates in the poll fray, 2,427 are male, 184 female and 2 others.

Let’s now move on to the Tiptur Assembly constituency in Karnataka, which falls under Tumkur district.


Tiptur Election Results

In Tiptur constituency, it is a fight between B.C. Nagesh from the BJP, K Shadakshari from the Congress, and Shanthakumar from the JD(S).

Cong has won in Tiptur.

In 2018, the seat had been won by BJP . The winning candidate was B.C. Nagesh . The Congress candidate K. Shadakshari had come in second place.

In the 2013 Assembly election, the seat had been won by K. Shadakshari of the Congress . The BJP candidate B. C. Nagesh had come in second place.


The 2023 Karnataka Assembly Election

Voting for the 224 constituencies in the 2023 Karnataka election took place in a single phase on 10 May.

According to the Election Commission, there are a total of 5,21,73,579 registered voters in Karnataka, of which 2.62 crore are male voters and 2.59 crore are female voters.

In the 2018 Karnataka Assembly elections, BJP had won 104 seats, Congress 80 and JD(S) 37. Veteran BJP leader B S Yediyurappa took oath as Chief Minister, as the leader of the single largest party. But he had to step down within 72 hours as the BJP could not muster up the numbers to reach the majority mark. Congress and JD(S) joined hands in a post-poll alliance and formed the government. But in 2019, the BJP came to power after the Congress-JD(S) alliance lost their majority when over a dozen of their MLAs resigned. Yediyurappa became the Chief Minister again. In 2021, he was replaced from the top spot by the BJP's Basavaraj Bommai, who went into the 2023 election as the incumbent CM.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from news and india

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More