Padma Awards 2023: Mulayam, Zakir Hussain Among 6 Selected for Padma Vibhushan

Yadav, Mahalanabis, and Doshi were selected for the Padma Vibhushan posthumously.

1 min read

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

President Droupadi Murmu on Wednesday, 25 January, approved the conferment of 106 Padma awards for the year 2023.

Former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Mulayam Singh Yadav, former External Affairs Minister in the UPA government SM Krishna, and tabla maestro Zakir Hussain are among the six dignitaries who will be conferred with the country's second highest civilian honour – the Padma Vibhushan.

Other dignitaries selected for the Padma Vibhushan include medical professional Dilip Mahalanabis who returned from the US to serve in the 1971 Bangladesh war refugee camps, noted architect Balkrishna Doshi, and US based mathematician Srinivas Varadhan.

Yadav, Mahalanabis, and Doshi were selected for the Padma Vibhushan posthumously.


This year, no one has been named for India's highest civilian award, Bharat Ratna.

Author and social worker Sudha Murty, industrialist Kumara Mangalam Birla, and novelist S L Bhyrappa are among the nine Padma Bhushan awardees for this year.

Others dignitaries include physicist Deepak Dhar, singer Vani Jairam, US based religious leader Chinna Jeeyar, singer Suman Kalyanpur, linguistics scholar Kapil Kapoor, and spiritual leader Kamlesh D Patel.

The president also approved the list of 91 Padma Shri awardees.

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and india

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member

25 10% off


100 10% off


200 10% off

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News