B’luru, Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai Among 75 Districts Under Lockdown

State governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in these 75 districts. 

2 min read

Seventy-five districts where coronavirus cases were reported are completely locked down as authorities undertook extraordinary measures to check the spread of the disease.

Meanwhile, all inter-state buses, passenger trains and metro services have been suspended across the country till 31 March.

The decisions were taken at a high-level meeting of chief secretaries of all states and the cabinet secretary and the principal secretary to the prime minister.

The districts where lockdown is announced are from states that include Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha, Maharashtra, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Karnataka, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Only essential services will be allowed in all these districts.

Punjab, Uttarakhand and Delhi governments have announced a complete lockdown in these states in their own capacity.

The officials, cited by PTI, stressed that these steps were vital to end the chain of transmission. It was agreed that there was an urgent need to extend the restrictions on the movement of non-essential passenger transport, including inter-state transport buses, till 31 March, they said.

The state governments may expand the list depending on their assessment of the situation, reported PTI.


National Capital Under Lockdown

The national capital will observe a full lockdown as announced by the Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal. This includes the districts where coronavirus cases were found positive.

During this lockdown in Delhi, cabs, taxis, auto-rickshaws will not be allowed to operate. There will be restrictions on private vehicles too. However, vehicles linked to essential services such as police, health, fire, prisons, electricity, water, chemists, petrol pumps, etc will be allowed.

Other essential services which will be allowed are groceries, milk, petrol pumps, medicine stores, takeaways, ATMs, water, power, civic services, etc.

Major Cities Follow Suit

Metro cities like Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai and Kolkata are part of the 75 districts' list given by the Indian government that have imposed a lockdown. As announced by the government, only essential services will operate in these cities too.

Here’s a state-wise list of regions that are under lockdown.


  • Kutch
  • Rajkot
  • Gandhinagar
  • Surat
  • Vadodara
  • Ahmedabad

Andhra Pradesh

  • Prakasam
  • Vijaywada
  • Vizag


  • Faridabad
  • Sonipat
  • Panchkula
  • Panipat
  • Gurugram


  • Bengaluru
  • Chikkaballapura
  • Mysuru
  • Kodagu
  • Kalaburagi


  • Alappuzha
  • Ernakulam
  • Idukki
  • Kannur
  • Kasargod
  • Kottayam
  • Mallapuram
  • Pathanamthitta
  • Thiruvanthpuram
  • Thrissur


  • Ahmednagar
  • Aurangabad
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Mumbai Sub-Urb
  • Pune
  • Ratnagiri
  • Raigad
  • Thane
  • Yavatmal

Uttar Pradesh

  • Agra
  • GB Nagar
  • Ghaziabad
  • Varanasi
  • Lakhimpur
  • Kheri
  • Lucknow

West Bengal

  • Kolkata
  • North 24 Parganas


  • Dehradun


  • Bhadradri
  • Kothagudem
  • Hyderabad
  • Medchai
  • Ranga Reddy
  • Sanga Reddy

Tamil Nadu

  • Chennai
  • Erode
  • Kanchipuram


  • Bhilwara
  • Jhunjhunu
  • Sikar
  • Jaipur


  • Khurda


  • Mahe


  • Kargil
  • Leh

Madhya Pradesh

  • Jabalpur

Himachal Pradesh

  • Kangra

Jammu and Kashmir

  • Srinagar
  • Jammu


  • Raipur

Punjab and Uttarakhand have announced complete lockdown in the states.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!