Congress Appoints New Tripura Party President & 5 Working Presidents

Birajit Sinha was appointed the new president of the Tripura Pradesh Congress Committee by party chief Sonia Gandhi.

Breaking News
2 min read
Congress Appoints New Tripura Party President & 5 Working Presidents

Amidst the hectic political activities by all the major parties in Tripura, Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Friday, 24 September, appointed former minister and seasoned politician Birajit Sinha as the party president in the north-eastern state and chose five leaders as working presidents.

Surprisingly, the outgoing state party President Pijush Kanti Biswas, a lawyer, did not find any position in the new committee even as a former chief minister and former state presidents were accommodated in the new body.

Biswas, who, on 21 August, resigned and announced he was quitting politics "for the time being", withdrew his resignation the same day following the request of the party high command.

Sinha, 69, who was a minister in the Congress-led Tripura government (1988-93), was appointed the state party president for a record third time as he had held the post earlier on two occasions (2000-03 and 2010-12).


Sinha's appointment as the state party chief has been made at a time when many Congress leaders like Subal Bhowmik, Prakash Das (ex-Minister), Mujibar Islam Majumder, Md Idrish Mia, Tapan Dutta, Panna Deb, Baptu Chakraborty have quit the party and joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC) when West Bengal's ruling party began its hectic political activities on 25 July. Many other Congress leaders are also reportedly talking with the TMC leaders.

Eyeing the next assembly elections, which is one-and-a-half years away, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, the main opposition Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Congress besides the TMC have started hectic political activities in Tripura.

According to a statement of the All India Congress Committee General Secretary KC Venugopal on Friday, the party's interim President Sonia Gandhi has also appointed five working presidents for Tripura – Mohammad Billal Miah, Manik Deb, Sushanto Chakraborti, Purnita Chakma, and Pradip Bardhan.

In the jumbo Tripura Pradesh Committee, 10 vice-presidents, 18 general secretaries, 29 secretaries, 16 members, and a treasurer were appointed while a 35-member executive committee was constituted comprising a former chief minister, former state party presidents and senior leaders.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from news and breaking-news

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News