Orange Cap, Purple Cap IPL 2023: Updated List After 58th Match of LSG vs SRH

Updated IPL 2023 Orange Cap, Purple Cap List: Check the top 5 players of the orange cap and purple cap list

2 min read
Hindi Female

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) faced Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the 58th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Saturday, May 13. In the last match between SRH and LSG in the IPL 2023, Lucknow emerged victorious by five wickets in a low-scoring affair.

The orange cap concept in IPL is since the year 2008. Organizers introduced the Orange Cap to reward the leading run-scorer and it was an innovation the field of cricket.

The Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker in a single edition of IPL. The winner of Purple Cap of IPL 2023 is decided at the end of the Tata Indian Premier League. The bowler with the highest wickets in the tournament is given the opportunity to wear the Purple Cap on the field.

If there is a tie between bowlers for the maximum wickets, the bowler with a lower economy rate is awarded the Purple Cap.

Hosts Sunrisers Hyderabad posted a decent 182 for six against Lucknow Super Giants in the first half of the 58th match of Indian Premier League on Saturday. But still were unable to defeat Lucknow Super Giants since LSG won the match by 7 wickets


Orange Cap in IPL 2023

1. Faf Du Plessis (RCB) - 576 runs (11 matches)

2. Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) - 575 runs (12 matches)

3. Suryakumar Yadav (MI)- 479 runs (11 matches)

4. Shubman Gill (GT)- 475 runs (12 matches)

5.Devon Convay (CSK) - 468 runs (12 matches)

Purple Cap in 2023

1. Rashid Khan (RR)- 23 wickets (12 matches)

2. Yuzvendra Chahal- 21 wickets (12 matches)

3. Piyush Chawla (MI) - 19 wickets (12 matches)

4. Mohammed Shami (GT) - 19 wickets (12 matches)

5. Tushar Deshpande (CSK) - 19 wickets (12 matches)

Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Faf du Plessis remains at top spot in Orange Cap race with 576 runs, Rajasthan Royals' Yashasvi Jaiswal is at number two with 575 runs. Mumbai Indians Suryakumar Yadav is now in the top-10.

Gujarat Titans (GT) star Rashid Khan is now the Purple Cap holder with 23 wickets while RR's Yuzvendra Chahal slipped to the second spot with 21 wickets. Piyush Chawla has risen to the third spot with 19 wickets to his name.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)


Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from indian-premier-league-ipl

Topics:  IPL Orange Cap   IPL 2023   2023 IPL 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More