IPL 2021 Match 8: CSK vs PBKS Highlights

This victory has helped CSK jump from the last position to the second position in the IPL 2021 points table.

2 min read
<div class="paragraphs"><p>CSK won the match against PBKS on Friday.</p></div>

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Friday, 16 April, grabbed an easy victory against Punjab Kings (PBKS) at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium.

This victory has helped the team jump from the last position to the second position in the IPL 2021 points table. It also caused a huge fall in PBKS's position from 3rd to 7th in the table.

CSK was led by former Indian skipper MS Dhoni, and PBKS was led by skipper KL Rahul.

CSK won the toss and chose to bowl first.


CSK vs PBKS Highlights

  • Punjab Kings: 106/8 in 20 overs
  • Chennai Super Kings: 107/4 in 15.4 overs

Punjab Kings came on the field to bat first and were restricted to a total of 106 by a stunning performance by Chennai's bowlers. Shahrukh Khan scored 47 off 36 balls for PBKS, Jhye Richardson scored 15 off 22, and Chris Gayel scored 10 off 10 deliveries. Deepak Chahar of CSK displayed an amazing performance by taking four wickets – of Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Deepak Hooda, and Nicholas Pooran.

Chahar was awarded player of the match title.

CSK did not struggle much to meet the small target of 107. Moeen Ali scored a total of 46 runs off 31 balls, Suresh Raina made 8 runs off 9 balls, and Faf du Plessis (not out) scored 36 off 33 balls and grabbed victory for CSK with Sam Curran (not out).

Friday's match was MS Dhoni’s 200th match for CSK. "[It] Makes me feel very good. It has been a very long journey. It started in 2008 -- played in South Africa, UAE, and back home. Never thought Mumbai would be our home," said Dhoni after CSK's first win of the season.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!