Modi, Amit Shah Register Resounding Wins; Scindia, Digvijaya Lose

Catch all the updates on who’s leading and who’s trailing in Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Updated24 May 2019, 04:21 AM IST
10 min read

Congress President Rahul Gandhi congratulated BJP and PM Narendra Modi on Thursday, as Election Commission’s trends pointed towards a landslide victory for the NDA in the Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP could end up winning more than 280 seats, which is enough to form the government on its own.

  • PM Modi won the Varanasi seat by over 4.5 lakh votes
  • Amit Shah also registered a resounding victory in Gandhinagar, winning with a margin of over 5.5 lakh votes
  • Rahul Gandhi leads in Wayanad but is likely to lose Amethi, where he is trailing far behind BJP’s Smriti Irani
  • Sonia Gandhi won Raebareli, edging past BJP’s Dinesh Pratap Singh

(Catch all the live updates on 2019 Lok Sabha results here. For updates on Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal , Maharashtra and South of India, follow The Quint.)

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

10:33 PM, 22 May

Election Results 2019: Will PM Modi Win By a Bigger Margin?

PM Narendra Modi is seeking a re-election from the Varanasi constituency. While his victory on the seat is almost a foregone conclusion, what remains to be seen is whether he can better the margin of victory, as compared to last time.

In 2014, he had defeated AAP's Arvind Kejriwal by more than 3.37 lakh votes.

This time, he is up against Congress' Ajay Rai and Samajwadi Party's Shalini Yadav.

11:12 PM, 22 May

Rahul Eyeing Two in Two

Besides the mandate of inspiring his party's countrywide fight, Congress President Rahul Gandhi is also tasked with the job of winning on both the seats he contested with Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Apart from his traditional seat of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, he is also vying for the Wayanad seat in Kerala.

In Amethi, he is up against Union Minister Smriti Irani , while in Wayanad his challenge is against PP Suneer of CPI(M).

11:39 PM, 22 May

Election Results 2019: Will Amit Shah Enter Lok Sabha?

In his first bid to enter the Lok Sabha, BJP President Amit Shah is up against Congress MLA CJ Chavda on the Gandhinagar seat in Gujarat.

Shah, who is currently a Rajya Sabha member, replaced party veteran Lal Krishna Advani on the seat. Advani, had won the 2014 election by a margin of over 4.60 lakh votes to get elected for a sixth term.

12:03 AM, 23 May

Gambhir vs Atishi vs Lovely: A Contest to Watch

While all seven seats in the capital city of Delhi are engaged in a three-way battle between the BJP, Congress and AAP, the East Delhi seat is one of the most keenly watched contests.

AAP's Atishi, who is often credited for having played a major role in the reform of government schools in Delhi, is up against former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, who has been fielded by the BJP. Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely, too, has a solid base in the constituency and can definitely not be regarded as a rank outsider.

Published: 22 May 2019, 10:33 PM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!