Security For Hijab Verdict Judges: What's Provided Under X, Y & Z Categories?

Who is responsible for providing security cover? Here is all you need to know.

2 min read
Hindi Female

The three Karnataka High Court judges, who delivered the verdict on pleas challenging the hijab ban, will get Y-category security cover, chief minister Basavaraj Bommai said on Sunday, 20 March. This comes just days after two people were arrested over death threats issued to the judges.

"We've decided to give 'Y' category security to all three judges who gave the Hijab verdict. I have instructed the officials to probe the complaint thoroughly in which some people gave life threats to them," Bommai told news agency ANI.

A four-person security team will guard each of the judges round-the-clock under 'Y' category security. What other categories of security are there? Here is all you need to know.

What other categories of security is there?

There are six central security covers:

  • X

  • Y

  • Y Plus

  • Z

  • Z Plus

  • Special Protection Group (SPG)

The SGP has an annual budget of around Rs 600 crore and protects only the Prime Minister. However, any one of the other categories of protection may be offered to anyone if the Centre deems it necessary.

What is X category security cover?

X category security is:

  • The lowest level central security cover

  • The person assigned has two armed personnel at all times

  • No commandos are provided

What are the benefits of a Y category security?

Y category security includes:

  • A total of 11 personnel for security

  • Includes one or two commandos

  • Five of them are stationed at the residence (one commando, four constables)

  • Three Personal Security Officers (PSOs) with the protectee

  • The PSOs are deployed on rotation basis in three shifts (meaning one PSO with the protectee at the time)

  • Kumar Vishwas, Hardik Patel, and MS Dhoni have Y security in India.

How is Y Plus security different from Y security?

Y Plus security provides the same protection at the residence as Y security cover but has six PSOs deployed with the protectee – meaning two PSOs round the clock.


What about Z security cover?

Z security cover includes:

  • 22 security personnel

  • Two to eight armed guards at the home

  • Two PSOs at all times

  • Armed escort of one to three for road journeys

What is Z Plus security?

This is the highest level of security that can be provided in the country after the Prime Minister’s security cover. It Includes:

  • 55 personnel

  • Detail comprising personnel from Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) and the Railway Protection Force (RPF)

  • 10 commandos from the National Security Guard (NSG)

  • Local police personnel

  • Currently Home Minister Amit Shah and the Gandhi family has this protection cover

How many people are currently under security cover?

In March 2018, the Union Government had stated in the Lok Sabha that 300 people were provided Central Security Covers under various categories.

Who are given security covers?

Ministers and politicians get security cover due to their political position.

VIPs and private individuals get such security cover if approved by the Home Ministry after reviewing inputs from the intelligence agencies.

Who is responsible for providing security cover?

The following two forces are tasked for providing security to the VIPs:

  • The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)

  • Central Industrial Security Force (CISF)

(Inputs from The Indian Express and India TV)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from coronavirus and faq

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More