Join Us On:

JNU Dons Red as Left Unity Bags All Seats in JNUSU Polls

The ABVP came a distant second in the JNUSU elections.

News Videos
1 min read

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

Video Editor: Vishal Kumar

The Left Unity alliance bagged all top four posts in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union (JNUSU) on Sunday, 16 September. The ABVP came a distant second.

The JNUSU Election Committee announced that N Sai Balaji, Sarika Chaudhary, Aejaz Ahmad Rather and Amutha Jayadeep of the Left alliance were elected to the posts of president, vice president, general secretary and joint secretary, respectively.


The Left Unity comprised of the SFI (Students Federation of India), DSF (Democratic Students Federation), AISF (All India Students Federation) and AISA (All India Students Association).

Earlier on 15 September, the counting was halted after members of the ABVP allegedly attacked members of the Election Committee and attempted to snatch away sealed ballot boxes and ballot papers from within the vote counting centre, the Committee members said.

Over 5,000 students cast their votes on Friday, resulting in a voter turnout of 67.8 percent, the highest in six years.

(With inputs from IANS and ANI)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More