Instagram’s Subtle Way to Deal With Bullies – Restrict, Not Report
Notifications for comments are also ‘Restricted’ once you restrict an account.
To deal with online bullying in a subtle way, Facebook-owned Instagram, on Wednesday, 2 October, rolled out a new feature called 'Restrict'. The new feature allows users to quietly protect their account, while also being able to keep an eye on bullies.
Like reporting an account, one can activate ‘Restrict’ by simply swiping left on any comment, through the privacy tab in settings, or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict.
HOW IT WORK
Once ‘Restrict’ is enabled, comments on posts will only be visible to that person, while giving you an option to see the comment as well.
There is a "see comment" option, that allows one to see comments from their bullies. You also have the option of approving the comment, deleting it or simply ignoring the comment.
Notifications for comments are also ‘Restricted’ once you restrict a user account.
Direct messages from ‘Restricted’ accounts automatically move to message requests and no notification will be received on the same.
Instagram won't send a notification if you receive a message from a ‘Restricted’ account.
(With inputs from Instagram Info Center)
Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.