Trivendra Rawat to Swear in as Uttarakhand CM on Saturday

The newly elected BJP lawmakers are set to meet at 3 pm on Friday to elect the next Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Trivendra Rawat to Swear in as Uttarakhand CM on Saturday

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

  • Trivendra Singh Rawat has been elected as BJP’s Legislative Party leader in Uttarakhand. He will be sworn in tomorrow.
  • Three-time MP, Manoj Sinha, is now the top contender for the UP CM’s seat
  • BJP President Amit Shah virtually rules out Keshav Prasad Maurya from the race for UP CM on Thursday
  • After Maurya’s virtual elimination, Rajnath Singh also rules out his return to state politics
10:12 PM , 17 Mar

Trivendra Singh Rawat Appointed CM

Uttarakhand Governor Krishna Kant Paul has appointed BJP Legislative Party leader Trivendra Singh Rawat as CM. He has invited him to form the government on Saturday.

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter/ANI)
5:42 PM , 17 Mar

New BJP Government in UP likely on Sunday

The swearing in of a new BJP government in Uttar Pradesh will most likely take place on Sunday, party sources said on Friday.

The oath taking ceremony of the new Chief Minister and the cabinet was likely to be a grand affair with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah attending the event.

An estimated one lakh people are also expected to attend the ceremony at the Kashiram Smriti Upvan in the evening.

Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states are also likely to attend.

While no official announcement has been made so far about the next Chief Minister, the sources say the name of union minister Manoj Sinha has "more or less been finalized" by Amit Shah.

A formal announcement will be made on Saturday.

(Photo: PTI)
5:37 PM , 17 Mar

Trivendra Singh Rawat Meets Uttarakhand Governor

Uttarakhand’s CM designate Trivendra Singh Rawat met Governor KK Paul on Friday. In his meeting he claimed support of 57 MLAs to form government.

5:30 PM , 17 Mar

PM Modi, Amit Shah to Attend Trivendra Rawat's Swearing-In

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah will attend Trivendra Singh Rawat’s oath taking ceremony in Dehradun on Saturday.

Published: 17 Mar 2017, 9:38 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News