Punjab Results: Big Win for Congress, AAP Relegated to Opposition

Live updates for Punjab Assembly elections 2017. Will debutant AAP emerge victorious? 

Punjab Elections 2017
6 min read
Congress leader and birthday boy Amarinder Singh has double reasons to cheer. (Photo Courtesy: Rhythum Seth/<b>The Quint</b>)
2:33 PM, 11 Mar

Big Win for Congress In Punjab

The Congress was on Saturday won a two-third majority in the 117-seat Punjab assembly, with veteran Amarinder Singh set to return as Chief Minister of the border state.

The Congress, which had been out of power in Punjab for a decade, won 77 seats, paving the way for the next Congress government in Punjab.

Punjab Results: Big Win for Congress, AAP Relegated to Opposition
5:19 PM, 10 Mar
  • Congress stormed back to power with 77 of the 117 assembly seats
  • AAP, which contesting its first Punjab assembly elections emerged as the largest opposition party with 20 seats
  • The Prakash Singh Badal led SAD won 15 seats, down from its earlier tally of 56 seats
  • Amarinder Singh lost the Lambi seat where he contested against CM Prakash Singh Badal but won from the Patiala assembly seat
  • 70% turnout was recorded during single phase polling in Punjab on 4 February
11:43 AM, 11 Mar

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi Thanks The People of Punjab

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi thanked the poeple of Punjab for their support.

10:48 AM, 11 Mar

PM Modi Tweets About SAD-BJP Alliance in Punjab

Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people of Punjab for letting the BJP-SAD combine serve them.

Published: 11 Mar 2017, 12:15 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!