The Big Losers and Winners in High-Stakes Assembly Polls 2017

Stay tuned here for all the key highlights from the five states! (Photo: Rahul Gupta/<b>The Quint</b>)
Stay tuned here for all the key highlights from the five states! (Photo: Rahul Gupta/The Quint)

The Big Losers and Winners in High-Stakes Assembly Polls 2017


A BJP Win for Uttarakhand

The Modi 'tsunami' in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand secured landslide victories for the Bharatiya Janata Party. The Congress achieved a similar feat in Punjab – as well as emerged as the single largest party in Goa and Manipur, throwing up a hung Assembly.

Here’s everything you need to know about who lost and who won in the five state Assembly elections 2017.

SP Leader Azam Khan Retains His Seat

Modi Wave Sweeps UP

Congress, BJP Claim Victory in Manipur

Big Win for Congress In Punjab

Hung Assembly in Goa

BJP's Pankaj Singh Wins from Noida

Akhilesh Yadav Resigns as UP CM

Akhilesh steps down
Akhilesh steps down

After Defeat, Rahul Gandhi Congratulates Modi

Uttarakhand BJP's President Ajay Bhatt Loses

BSP's Mukhtar Ansari Wins From Mau

Aparna Yadav Loses From Lucknow Cantt

After Losing, Irom Sharmila Says Won't Contest Elections Ever Again

Congress' Navjot Singh Sidhu Wins

Harish Rawat Resigns as Uttarakhand CM

Sukhbir Singh Badal Beats AAP's Bhagwant Mann

BJP Has 80% Seats in Uttarakhand

Congress' Pargat Singh Wins in Punjab

Party-Wise Vote Share in UP

PM Modi Congratulates Amarinder Singh

Mayawati Alleges Foul Play

'This Is a Win of PM's Leadership', Says Smriti Irani

Former CM Kamat Retains His Seat in Margao

Parkash Singh Badal Wins With 66,375 Seats

Three More Results Declared in Goa

First Party in 37 Years and Third Party Ever, to Win 300+ Majority

Corruption-Less Govt Should Win: Amit Shah

A Lead of 55 Seats for BJP

Victory For AAP's Phoolka in Dakha

Congress Secures Key Seat in Bishnupur

'AAP Was Like a Summer Storm Which Came and Went'

Amarinder Singh Wins in Patiala

Monserrate Wins From Taleigao

NCP's Alemao Beats AAP Candidate in Goa

Harish Rawat Loses Kichha by 100 Votes

Irom Gets Only 90 Votes

Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad on UP

AAP's Phoolka Leads in Dakha

BJP Comments on Congress in UP

Congress Says Vote Bank Politics Won in UP

BJP Beats MGP in Dabolim

Harish Rawat Loses Haridwar Rural, Leads in Kicha

Nation Stands With PM Modi: Piyush Goyal

Harish Rawat Trailing in Haridwar Rural

Badal Jr Leads in Jalalbad

Bhagwant Mann Trailing in Jalalabad

Elvis Gomes Falls To Third Place in Cuncolim

BJP Leading in 4 out of 5 Seats in Varanasi

Manpreet Singh Badal Also Leading From the Bhatinda (urban) Seat

Congress's Sidhu in First Spot

Ex DGP Yumnam Joykumar Leading in Uripok

BJP Ahead in 48 Constituencies

Mukhtar Ansari Leading in Mau

Manpreet Singh Ahead of AAP's HS Phoolka

Deputy CM Francis D'Souza leading in Mapusa

CM Ibobi Singh Wins From Thoubal Constituency

Pankaj Singh Leading in Noida

Congress Leaders on Rahul and Congress' Performance

Jitin Prasada Leading in Tilhar

Former CM Vijay Bahuguna's Son Leading in Sitarganj

CNN-News18 Calls Poll in Favour of Congress

BSP's Ram Achal Rajbhar Leading in Akbarpur

AAP Trailing in Goa

CM Harish Rawat Trails in His Own Constituency in Kichha

CM Ibobi Singh Leads With 4698 Votes in Thoubal

CNN-News18 Calls UP Elections at 9:27 am

Shivpal Yadav Leading in Jaswantnagar

Congress' Amarinder Singh Leads in Patiala

CNN-News18 Calls the Elections for BJP

BJP Trailing in Goa

SAD Veteran Parkash Badal Leads in Lambi

Azam Khan Leading in Rampur

Aparna Yadav Trailing from Lucknow Cantt

Abdullah Azam Khan Trailing in Suar

BJP Leads in Uttarakhand

BJP's Lead in UP

Exit Polls for Punjab

Exit Polls for Punjab (Graphics: <b>The Quint</b>)
Exit Polls for Punjab (Graphics: The Quint)

Exit Polls for Goa

The saffron party, though likely to lead the table in Goa, was projected to fall short of a majority in the coastal state.

Exit Polls for Goa (Graphics: <b>The Quint</b>)
Exit Polls for Goa (Graphics: The Quint)

Exit Polls for Uttarakhand

Exit Polls for Uttarakhand (Graphics: <b>The Quint</b>)
Exit Polls for Uttarakhand (Graphics: The Quint)

Exit Polls for Manipur

Exit Polls for Manipur (Graphics: <b>The Quint</b>)
Exit Polls for Manipur (Graphics: The Quint)

(The Quint is now available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)


  • Counting of votes begins at 8 am on Saturday in 157 centres across the five states
  • Stakes in Uttar Pradesh are high not only for the BJP, but also for the SP-Congress alliance
  • The Congress is also eyeing power in Punjab and Goa, and hopes to retain Uttarakhand and Manipur
  • The AAP is hoping to form governments in Goa and Punjab – which would mark its first electoral success outside Delhi

Who Will Win and Who Will Lose?

The stage is set for counting of votes on Saturday to wrap up a staggered poll process in five states – the biggest electoral contest ahead of the 2019 general elections – in what is largely seen as a referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation move.

According to the Election Commission of India, the early trends will start pouring in from 8 am for all the five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa – where thousands of central forces have been deployed at vote counting centres.

(Photo: Rahul Gupta/<b>The Quint</b>)
(Photo: Rahul Gupta/The Quint)

Here’s a quick recap of how each of the five states performed in the exit polls on Thursday.

Exit Polls for Uttar Pradesh

Exit polls by most news channel on Thursday had predicted a hung assembly in the key Hindi heartland state of Uttar Pradesh where BJP would emerge as the single largest party, winning anywhere between 164 and 210 of the 403 seats.

Exit Polls for Uttar Pradesh (Graphics: <b>The Quint</b>)
Exit Polls for Uttar Pradesh (Graphics: The Quint)

Follow our State Elections 2017 section for more stories.

    Also Watch