How England Won the Final But New Zealand Didn’t Lose
New Zealand despite not losing the match had to be content being the runners-up for the second successive time.
New Zealand despite not losing the match had to be content being the runners-up for the second successive time.(Photo: AP)

How England Won the Final But New Zealand Didn’t Lose

It was one of the most extraordinary World Cup final ever to be played in the history of the game.

England and New Zealand, could not be separated after the first hundred overs of the game. But neither the Super Over could decided the fate of the game. Eventually, it was the boundary count which clinched the deal in England’s favour.

Also Read : Watch Highlights: England Beat NZ After a Dramatic Super Over

New Zealand scored 241/8 batting first. England in their chase scored 241 before being bowled out in the final over of the game.

Then in the Super Over, batting first, England scored 15 and New Zealand also scored the same amount of runs before Jos Buttler ran Martin Guptill out to help England win their first World Cup final.

Thus, the tie couldn’t be resolved even after the Super Over. As per the rules, if the fate of a match continues to be unresolved even the Super Over in such scenario the team which has scored more boundaries is declared the winner.

After the Super Over it was found out that England hit 26 boundaries compared to New Zealand’s 17. Thus, the host nation were declared the winners.

So, New Zealand despite not losing the match had to be content being the runners-up for the second successive time.

Also Read : Eng v NZ WC Final LIVE: England Crowned Champions!

The way the game ended raised quite a few questions on whether this is how the game should have ended. Fans also said that this is unfair on Kane Willamson.

(Hi there! We will be continuing our news service on WhatsApp. Meanwhile, stay tuned to our Telegram channel here.)

Follow our ICC World Cup 2019 section for more stories.

Also Watch