Woods, Djokovic, Biles: Complete List of Winners From Laureus 2019

Here’s a look at the complete list of winners from the Laureus Sports Award 2019:

Updated19 Feb 2019, 08:35 AM IST
2 min read

Tiger Woods, Novak Djokovic, Lindsey Vonn and the France national football team were among the winners at the Laureus World Sports Awards, with Woods claiming the Comeback Award 19 years after he was first recognised.

Woods, who won the inaugural World Sportsman of the Year award in 2000, won the Tour Championship in September for his 80th PGA Tour title and his first since August 2013.

Djokovic matched Usain Bolt’s record by being named World Sportsman of the Year for the fourth time after winning Wimbledon and the U.S. Open. He also earned the honor in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

Vonn, who retired during the recent Alpine skiing world championships , took home the Spirit of Sport Award, which is given to an athlete for relentless dedication to his or her career, and France was honored for winning the World Cup in July.

Simone Biles was named World Sportswoman of the Year for winning four gold, one silver and one bronze medal at the gymnastics world championships. Naomi Osaka won the Breakthrough Award for winning the U.S. Open and Chloe Kim was named the World Action Sportsperson of the Year.

The awards were given in recognition of outstanding sports performance in 2018.

Here’s a look at the complete list of winners from the Laureus Sports Award 2019:

  • Sportsman of the Year - Novak Djokovic - Serbia (Tennis)
  • Sportswoman of the Year - Simone Biles - USA (Gymnastics)
  • Comeback of the Year - Tiger Woods - USA (Golf)
  • Breakthrough of the Year - Naomi Osaka - Japan (Tennis)
  • Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability - Henrieta Farkkašová - Slovakia (Skiing)
  • Action Sportsperson of the Year - Chloe Kim - USA (Snowboarding)
  • Team of the Year - France World Cup Team - (Football)
  • Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year - Xia Boyu - China
  • Academy Exceptional Achievement Award - Eliud Kipchoge - Kenya (Marathon)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Arsene Wenger - France (Football)
  • Spirit for Sport Award - Lindsey Vonn - USA
  • Sport for Good Award - Yuwa - India (Football)

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Published: 19 Feb 2019, 02:44 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!