Kolkata’s Eden Gardens to Host 2016 World T20 Final

BCCI names 8 venues for World T20 – Kolkata, B’luru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi.

1 min read
Kolkata’s Eden Garden. (Photo: Reuters)

Eden Gardens in Kolkata will host the final of the World Twenty20 next year, the Indian cricket board (BCCI) said on Tuesday.

The BCCI named eight venues for the biennial event, which has been staged across three cities in each of its previous five editions.

Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi will be the other venues for the March 11-April 3 event, the board said in a statement.

BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans.
— Anurag Thakur, Secretary, BCCI

India co-hosted the 50-over World Cup in 2011 with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and went on to win the tournament.

BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya will head a managing committee for the 16-team tournament featuring 10 test playing nations and six associate teams.

Sri Lanka won the last edition of the tournament in Bangladesh in 2014.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!