5 Howlers That Put the Spotlight on Umpires in IPL 2019
Umpires have a discussion during an IPL 2019 fixture.
Umpires have a discussion during an IPL 2019 fixture.(Photo: BCCI)

5 Howlers That Put the Spotlight on Umpires in IPL 2019

One of the raging debates of the 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was the deteriorating standard of umpiring. Throughout the 12th edition of the IPL, fans witnessed many incidents where questions were raised about the umpires' efficiency.

Here’s a look at the glaring umpiring mistakes that created quite some stir in this edition of the IPL.

1. MI vs CSK Final - 'Wide-Ball' Not Called

Kieron Pollard was fined 25 per cent of his match fee for showing dissent at the umpire's decision in the IPL final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Pollard was visibly unhappy with a decision made by umpire Nitin Menon in the final over of the Mumbai innings.

Pollard was irked with the umpire's decision to not adjudge a delivery by Dwayne Bravo as wide. Mocking the decision, the West Indian all-rounder went on to take strike well away from the stumps and near the 'wide-line' before pulling away as Bravo ran in.

Mumbai eventually did win the match but Pollard was fined 25 percent of his match fee.

Also Read : Pollard Fined for Antics Protesting Umpire’s Call on ‘Wide’ Ball

Loading...
Malinga’s no ball in a league stage game against RCB was completely missed by the umpires.
Malinga’s no ball in a league stage game against RCB was completely missed by the umpires.
(Photo: Twitter)

2. RCB vs MI - Malinga’s Missed No Ball

One of the most glaring mistakes by an umpire this season was made in RCB's clash against MI at home. RCB needed seven runs off the last ball but Lasith Malinga conceded just one to win the contest for his side. However, after the match was over, cameras revealed Malinga had overstepped, which was not spotted by umpire Sundaram Ravi.

"We are playing at the IPL level and not playing club cricket. The umpires should have their eyes open. That is a ridiculous call at the last ball," Virat Kohli had said after the match. "If it is a game of margins, I don't know what is happening. They should have been more sharp and careful out there."

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma had also said such mistakes were "not good for the game".

3. RCB vs SRH - Umesh’s Wrong No Ball Call

RCB was at the receiving end of yet another umpiring mistake in their final league game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Umesh Yadav was bowling the final over when the fifth delivery was adjudged to be a front-foot no ball by Nigel Llong.

However, the replays showed his foot was inches behind the crease.

4. MI vs KKR: Rohit Adjudged LBW

Another umpiring mistake took place during a match between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians when Rohit Sharma was adjudged LBW while his side was chasing a massive 233.

It was in the fourth over of the second innings when Rohit was given out to an attempted hoick that he missed off Harry Gurney. Replays showed that the ball was just clipping leg stump as the Mumbai Indians skipper reviewed the decision. The decision could have gone either way but since the umpire's original decision was that of 'out', the original decision stayed.

Rohit was displeased with the decision and after having a word with the umpire, he broke the stumps with his bat.

Following the incident, the MI skipper was also fined 15 per cent of his match fee.

MS Dhoni charged into the playing field after the umpires overturned a no ball call in the final over CSK’s league game against RR.
MS Dhoni charged into the playing field after the umpires overturned a no ball call in the final over CSK’s league game against RR.
(Photo: BCCI)

5. RR vs CSK: Dhoni Loses Cool Over 'No-Ball' U-Turn

CSK skipper MS Dhoni, who is known as 'Captain Cool', also suffered a meltdown and stormed into the playing field to confront the umpires after a no-ball call for a high full toss was reversed against Rajasthan Royals in an IPL 2019 game.

The incident happened when CSK needed 18 runs from the final over.

The fourth delivery of the over bowled by Ben Stokes to Mitchell Santner was first called a no-ball by umpire Ulhas Gandhe but the decision was changed after he consulted with square-leg umpire Bruce Oxenford.

Also Read : Twitter Abuzz After MS Dhoni Loses His Cool, Enters Field vs RR

At this point Dhoni - who was in the dugout - stormed into the field and confronted both the umpires, asking them for a reason for reversing the decision. Quite a few Rajasthan players also got involved in what seemed to be a heated discussion.

Ultimately, the delivery was deemed legal but replays suggested it was a waist high no-ball.

Dhoni was fined 50 per cent of his match fee for his behaviour, which many former cricketers termed as a "light punishment" for the wicketkeeper-batsman.

(Hi there! We will be continuing our news service on WhatsApp. Meanwhile, stay tuned to our Telegram channel here.)

Follow our IPL section for more stories.

Also Watch

Loading...