IPL Auction 2020: Kings XI Punjab Full Squad List

Having never won an IPL title, Kings XI Punjab have a daunting task at the auction without a captain to take charge

2 min read
IPL Kings XI Punjab 2020 Full Players List: Glenn Maxwell’s base price was Rs 2 crore and was picked up by Kings XI Punjab for Rs 10.75 crore.

One of the only two teams to have never won an IPL title, Kings XI Punjab had a lot to do at the IPL auction in Kolkata and they made their intent clear as they started the auction by roping in explosive Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for Rs 10.75 crore.

The team were not short of cash as despite releasing just seven players, they saw their reserves shore up to Rs 42.70 cr, which they will now have to invest judiciously to rebuild a squad with nine slots to fill, including four overseas players.

Maxwell’s addition also gives them a handy middle-order batsman who on his day can turn matches on their head. Besides the explosive opening pair of KL Rahul and Chris Gayle, the only sector where they looked solid so far is in terms of their spin wizards where besides the wily Mujeeb ur Rahman, they also have Murugan Ashwin and Krishnappa Gowtham to fall back on.

In terms of pacers, while Kings XI Punjab had to shell out Rs 8 cr for Sheldon Cottrell, they can also count themselves lucky to get rookie fast bowler Ishan Porel for just Rs 20 lakh. In his 14 T20s so far, the Bengal pacer has bagged 16 wickets at a miserly economy rate of just 6.11. Cottrell, meanwhile will be expected to shoulder the responsibility along with Mohammed Shami to start off proceedings.

IPL 2020: Kings XI Punjab’s Full Squad

  1. Chris Gayle
  2. Mohammed Shami
  3. K Gowtham
  4. KL Rahul (Captain)
  5. Mayank Agarwal
  6. Mujeeb ur Rahman
  7. Nicholas Pooran
  8. Karun Nair
  9. Arshdeep Singh
  10. Sarfaraz Khan
  11. Hardus Viljoen
  12. Mandeep Singh
  13. M Ashwin
  14. J Suchith
  15. Harpreet Brar
  16. Darshan Nalkande
  17. Glenn Maxwell - Rs 10.75 crore
  18. Sheldon Cottrell - Rs 8.50 crore
  19. Deepak Hooda - Rs 50 lakh
  20. James Neesham - Rs 50 lakh
  21. Ravi Bishnoi - Rs 2 lakh
  22. Ishan Porel - Rs 20 lakh
  23. Chris Jordan - Rs 3 crore
  24. Tarjinder Dhillon - Rs 20 lakh
  25. Prabhsimran Singh - Rs 55 lakh

(New players in bold)

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!